Cannot use iphone 3g w/o sim card for ipod

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Ports, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. Ports macrumors regular

    Ports

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Bothell,WA
    #1
    :confused:I just bought and activated a 3G S 32 gb iphone and wanted to give my old 3G 16 gb to my daughter in Montana for her to use as a itouch etc. I restored to factory settings now it will not let me do anything without sim card? Any suggestions...:eek::eek:
     
  2. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    Try putting the SIM card back into the phone while your doing the restore on the phone.

    Once it goes though and is turned on again you can then take the SIM card out of the iPhone 3G and back into your iPhone 3G S
     
  3. Ports thread starter macrumors regular

    Ports

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Bothell,WA
    #3
    Thanks for the help!

    Thank you very much. I was starting to think I upgraded for nothing.
     
  4. Ports thread starter macrumors regular

    Ports

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Bothell,WA
    #4
    Graet help!

    :):)Thanks Unbornapple,

    It worked like a charm...
     
  5. Ports thread starter macrumors regular

    Ports

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Bothell,WA
    #5
    Great help!

    :):)Thanks Unbornapple,

    It worked like a charm...
     
  6. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  7. Daryl178 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #7
    need help too

    that didnt mess anything up on your 3gs? im scared to do that with my 2g cause im having the same problem.
     
  8. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #8
    No. I upgraded to the 3GS from a 3G and gave it to the wifey to replace her 2G. The 2G went to her sister that didn't preorder and is waiting for delivery.

    Long story short: 2G SIM went into 3G. 3G SIM went into HTC Tilt. 3GS activated on 2G account. New 3GS SIM went into 3G. Old 3G SIM went from Tilt into 3GS. Old 2G SIM in a cupholder in the car.

    Any questions? :p
     
  9. Daryl178 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #9
    so how would i do it cause i was just gonna use a non activated att sim card in my 2g iphone. i need help cause i dont wanna mess anything up in my new 3gs
     
  10. Daryl178 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #10
    Thanks it worked Im all Happy now :D:apple:
     

Share This Page