Canon 24-105mm problem?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by paul1500, Aug 3, 2009.

1. paul1500 macrumors newbie

Hi, just picked up my eos5d mk2 with 24-105mm. Noticed that the lens focus ring works regardless of the position of the M/AF switch on the lens body!?

Is this correct? I am guessing its faulty.

Help anyone. Thanks

2. gatepc macrumors 6502

gatepc

Yeah it sounds like something is up.I am no expert though maybe that lens is supposed to let you turn it even if its on auto? I am envious of your 5D :)

3. FX120 macrumors 65816

FX120

Yes, that's intentional. It's known as full time manual focusing.

4. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

You bought a 5D Mark II without being aware of FTM which exists on all L series lenses, and several non-Ls? Can I also guess you'll be using the 5D on Auto?

5. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

What is "Manual Focusing"? :eek:

LOL.....

6. jampat macrumors 6502a

Most (all?) of Canon's better lenses have this feature to allow you to manually finetune the focus. Switching the lens to M just turns off the motor so it doesn't attempt to focus itself.

7. maeman macrumors newbie

It's a shame, isn't it? :eek:

8. paul1500 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks

yes I did, thats why I asked the question.

Can I assume you are single, a 'bit 'nerdy' and were bullied at school for being a tw@t, with lots of time on your hands, hence you waste it here!

Thanks for the help everyone else.

9. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

Actually I've had a partner for nearly four years, work as a photographer and wasn't bullied at school. I mainly wonder how you can spend so much on a camera without actually knowing much about it, whilst a lower end dSLR (50D or similar) will probably give you the same results for a lesser entry price.

10. John.B macrumors 601

John.B

Sooooo... (Ignores all the controversy)