Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

paul1500

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2007
Hi, just picked up my eos5d mk2 with 24-105mm. Noticed that the lens focus ring works regardless of the position of the M/AF switch on the lens body!?

Is this correct? I am guessing its faulty.

Help anyone. Thanks

gatepc

macrumors 6502
Apr 11, 2008
Pittsburgh PA
Yeah it sounds like something is up.I am no expert though maybe that lens is supposed to let you turn it even if its on auto? I am envious of your 5D :)

FX120

macrumors 65816
May 18, 2007
Yes, that's intentional. It's known as full time manual focusing.

peskaa

macrumors 68020
Mar 13, 2008
London, UK
You bought a 5D Mark II without being aware of FTM which exists on all L series lenses, and several non-Ls? Can I also guess you'll be using the 5D on Auto?

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008
Hi, just picked up my eos5d mk2 with 24-105mm. Noticed that the lens focus ring works regardless of the position of the M/AF switch on the lens body!?

Is this correct? I am guessing its faulty.

Help anyone. Thanks

Most (all?) of Canon's better lenses have this feature to allow you to manually finetune the focus. Switching the lens to M just turns off the motor so it doesn't attempt to focus itself.

paul1500

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2007
thanks

You bought a 5D Mark II without being aware of FTM which exists on all L series lenses, and several non-Ls? Can I also guess you'll be using the 5D on Auto?

yes I did, thats why I asked the question.

Can I assume you are single, a 'bit 'nerdy' and were bullied at school for being a tw@t, with lots of time on your hands, hence you waste it here!

Thanks for the help everyone else.

peskaa

macrumors 68020
Mar 13, 2008
London, UK
yes I did, thats why I asked the question.