Canon 550D / T2i test video - why buy a camcorder?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by stulowe2009, Apr 9, 2010.

1. stulowe2009 macrumors member

Hi everyone

Wanted to post about my experiences with the new Canon 550D / T2i DSLR as a video camera.

I am by no means a professional and have used a variety of nice consumer camcorders for video work in the past (currently a JVC HD3), but recently I traded my nikon d90 DSLR and bought the 550D (bit of a downgrade from a still perspective, I know) with the intention of trying it out as a dual purpose still and video camera.

I have to say the difference between this thing and a consumer video camera is amazing. To get a cam with interchangable lenses and a sensor this size for the price is unbelievable. At 3200/6400 iso the picture is still clear and the 24p full HD recording looks fantastic.

I've embedded a test video I shot on my recent holiday. It's mostly little test shots and stuff thrown together in FCP. Ran the clips through a smoothcam filter as this thing is not that easy to handhold in a stable way. No colour grading done at all, this is as it shot it.

I think that these new video capable DSLR cameras are the best option for anyone looking at high end consumer cams at the moment.

Let me know what you think.

Here is the link as I can't seem to embed in this forum:

http://vimeo.com/10796100

Stu

2. TheXIIIth macrumors member

Awesome

You can't deny the outstanding image quality with video captured with the DSLR's being put out today. And the interchangeable lenses makes it a BIG win across the board.

There are some drawbacks though -