Canon 7D and iPhoto - Connectivity Problems

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by harrycobbold, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. harrycobbold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #1
    I've got a Canon EOS 7D and when I go to connect the camera to iPhoto to get the photos off the camera I have various levels of success, sometimes it connects and downloads like a dream, others it just doesn't even show up on my Mac :confused: Is this because I've got a dodgy cable or has anyone else had similar problems?

    Thanks Harry :apple:
     
  2. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #2
    I had a thread on a related topic a while ago. It seemed that using the cable to connect to the computer can present issues that using a card reader doesn't. If I recall, the 7D uses a CF card. I know it has an 18 MP sensor. It may just be overloading the USB. Most of the posters in my thread said they used FireWire 800 CF readers.

    Dale
     
  3. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #3
    Use memory card reader (USB 2.0 should be fast enough, unless you are using Extreme IV or similar cards). I would also use something better than iPhoto. iPhoto converts everything to 8-bit JPEG, defeating much of the benefits of 7D's 14-bit RAW files.
     
  4. mrkgoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    #4
    iPhoto doesn't convert everything to 8-bit jpegs - although that is it's default output, it doesn't change the original files.

    Anyway, I have a 7D and I use iPhoto. I found that it can sometimes 'not connect', often when I have it plugged in and THEN open iPhoto. It seems to have little issue if I plug it in while iPhoto is open. Maybe that will help.
     
  5. harrycobbold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #5
    Seems to do the trick, much appreciated
    Harry
    :D:apple:
     
  6. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #6
    I realize iPhoto leaves the original file intact, but doesn't it convert all RAW to JPEG on-the-fly? When making modifications to the photo, aren't you in fact modifying converted JPEG, not the original RAW? At least that what it feels like when playing with exposure.
     

Share This Page