Canon 7D RAW for iPhoto

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by theiman, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. theiman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #1
    Anybody know if iPhoto will be compatible for importing RAW photos from a Canon 7D?
     
  2. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #2
    Here is the list of compatible cameras: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1475

    It isn't supported yet but it will be in the future once Apple develops support for the new format.

    If you want to use the raw files just convert them to .DNG, then they will be compatible with everything and it is an open standard.
     
  3. theiman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #3
    RAW Compatibility

    Thanks, I've seen that list but was curious if anyone knew when Apple or Canon would get the file format for the 7D ready to work with iPhoto. Guess we'll just have to wait it out. :cool:
     
  4. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #4
    It's a pretty popular camera...along with the forthcoming 1d4. I'm assuming Apple is waiting out the 1d4 release to update the RAW abilities of both Aperture and iPhoto.

    They're both using the same processors...not sure if that's where the similarities end or if the processing (post RAW) is similar for both cams or not. This would make sense for all of the processors from Adobe, Aperture, CapOne, whoever...

    Hopefully within the next couple of months, otherwise, as mentioned by Zack, convert to dng or grab a "trial" from Adobe...they have a Beta version that's decent right now...not final, but looks great, IMO>

    J
     
  5. stagi macrumors 65816

    stagi

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #5
    the lightroom 3 beta supports it (and is free) I have been using this and converting to jpeg (then you can import to iPhoto)
     
  6. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #6
    Then you lose the value of the RAW file. Unless you are keeping the raw file in Lightroom and just using iPhoto for the organizational features.
     
  7. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #7
    With a 7D and shooting RAW I wouldn't mess with iPhoto. I would take a look at Aperture or Lightroom.
     

Share This Page