Canon 7D

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Tsuchiya, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Tsuchiya macrumors 68020

Tsuchiya

Hi just wondering if anyone uses a Canon 7D to shoot HD footage? I'm looking for something that can produce quality 1080p clips for an upcoming project, that does well in low lighting etc.

I'm by no means a professional, just a bit of a hobbyist with a fair amount of time on his hands :D

What do you guys think? Overkill? Any other recommendations? I'll be mainly be using this for shooting video, experimentation etc, so perhaps a SLR isn't what I should be looking into. However, I've always wanted a SLR and dislike having to borrow my brothers 450D all the time so was thinking that the 7D is a good all-round choice.

2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk

I've worked on several projects shot on the 7D. It's a great camera for video once you understand and learn to work around its limitations (rolling shutter/"jello", moire patterns on highly-detailed subjects/objects, etc.).

Also consider the 60D if your primary use would be video. Practically all of the 7D's advantages over the 60D pertain only matter to still photographers (more AF points, faster image processing, etc.). The 60D uses the same CMOS sensor and is a few hundred dollars cheaper.

3. nateo200 macrumors 68030

nateo200

4. handsome pete macrumors 68000

I agree with everything CaptainChunk said.

I have a 7D and love the results I've gotten with it. However you really need to understand the limitations going in. It's nowhere near the same ballpark as what you get with a dedicated video camera.

The 60D and t3i shoot the same video as the 7D, so you might want to go that route and use your savings on lenses. The 7D does have advantages for still shooting and I prefer the build quality of the 7D. But that might not be as important to you.

5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

The 60D also has a flip-out LCD screen which can be more ergonomically friendly when shooing video.