Canon DSLR - disk show on Desktop?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by eyup, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. eyup macrumors regular

    eyup

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a Canon 860IS and the camera doesn't show the disk on the Desktop like my Nikon, so have to use iPhoto.

    Sooo I am wondering do the Canon DSLRs e.g. EOS 40D show the disk on the desktop when connected to a Mac?
     
  2. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #2
    You could just get a card reader. Most of the time card readers are faster anyway.
     
  3. TWLreal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #3
    Yes, the memory card shows on the desktop for the Canon DSLRs.

    But you can use Image Capture instead of iPhoto to browse the files, works just the same as if it were mounted on the desktop.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    For reasons known only to Canon, it does not support USB automount.
     
  5. TWLreal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #5
    Oops, I remembered wrong. It doesn't mount as a mass storage device.

    Image Capture still works well though.
     

Share This Page