Canon G12

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Paratel, Dec 8, 2011.

1. Paratel macrumors 6502

Paratel

Does anyone what an experience with this camera? Thoughts? Pros? Cons?

Looking to get a new camera but do not wasnt the size of a DLSR. I have had the powershot SX130 and 150 but it takes forever for the flash to recharge and you have to manually raise the flash on those. The last point and shoot I had that I really liked was my Canon AiS650.

2. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r

I have no experience with the g12 (sadly) however that and the S100 are some of the best P&S's you can get right now. The G12 is the flagship P&S for Canon with the S100 being second. The G12 is bulkier than the S100 however it's still quite portable and definitely smaller than a DSLR. The G12 has a f/2.8 - f/4.5 aperture which is ok. The S100 has a slightly better one at f/2. Personally, I like the swivel screens as my T3i has one. Some people hate 'em. If it were me I'd probably get the S100 but, then again, I have a DSLR. I think the G12 should be a great P&S for ya. Not sure how helpful this was.

3. fitshaced macrumors 68000

fitshaced

Well the G12 is an advanced point and shoot. It has the dials on it for shutter speed and aperture. It is obviously bulkier than a typical point and shoot and thats really the only way it lacks (as point and shoots go). If you want a camera that you will carry around with you all the time, get the S95 or S100. The G12 can be a lot more fun to use as you dont have to fiddle with menus as much due to the dials, but might not be on your person so much.

The battery life in the G12 is really extraordinary.

4. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

ericrwalker