Canon HF G10 & Final Cut Express

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mjbushnell, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. mjbushnell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I purchased a Canon HF G10 earlier this month. I took it on a trip to Europe & am now trying to get the video in Final Cut Express without much success.
    I can get the Canon to show up on my desktop, but can't seem to get Final Cut Express to capture the video from the camera using the USB Cable that came with the camera.
    I'm using a 2 x 3 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro that I got in March, 2007, running Mac OS X 10.7.1. I've got 10GB of RAM in it.
    I'm using Final Cut Express v4.0.1.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  2. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #2
    You don't "capture" via the USB cable.

    Copy the full file structure from the card to your computer, then open Log & Transfer in FCE. Simply point to the directory with your files and let FCE do its thing.
    Brew some coffee before you start the session. It'll take a while.
     
  3. mjbushnell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    So that's how you do it.
    I tried it & it worked! Thanks for the help.
    Mark
     
  4. senseless macrumors 68000

    senseless

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #4
    Nice camera. I looked at that, but wound up with the HFM41 because I don't use manual settings much.
     

Share This Page