Canon MG7100-series confusion

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by arncalars, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. arncalars macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I've just installed a new wifi/air-Printer ( Canon Pixma MG7150 ) on my iMac.
    Everything works fine and I enjoy printing from everywhere.

    But one thing annoys me - I have two printers installed shown in settings.
    Standard; the first one added, the wifi-printer.
    Available; the USB version (series 2), I assume, even though I haven't used USB.

    Short historic:
    1: I setup and connected the printer to my wifi/router :)
    2: I added the printer to my iMac :)

    everything but wireless scan was perfect :-(

    3: I installed Canon Utility from Canons website - except user manuals and photo management, to obtain needed driver for wireless scan.

    That worked! and I'm pleased :)

    But now I have two printers shown in settings.
    The AirPrint version that is standard, and the series 2 version that is available.

    I'd love to delete the series 2 version, that I suspect is the equivalent of the USB version.
    But I fear I'd loose the needed scan-driver and other important files along with it.

    Do I dare ?

    Regards Lars
    (Denmark)
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    You could delete both and re-add it but choose the correct driver in the "Add Printer" wizard.
     
  3. arncalars thread starter macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    The option to choose driver during "add printer" was not given.
    I was presented with software and manuals that I refused.
    The system driver was mandatory.

    ?
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4

    A screenshot would help here. Can you screenshot that problem?
     
  5. arncalars thread starter macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    Screenshot of settings-window attached.

    I can't show or prove the actual install process, and I'd rather not repeat the process again.
    I prefer to avoid installing the same files twice.

    As you might guess, I recently shifted from windows :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I was referencing choosing the driver in the drop down.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. arncalars thread starter macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    I misunderstood.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8

    If you delete both of the printers in System Preferences and readd it in the Canon utility you have up it will work fine for print and scan.
     
  9. arncalars, Jun 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014

    arncalars thread starter macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    I'll try - even though everything works fine.

    but what about system files already installed ?
    Does the installer detect them and skip those already there or will I have twice the amount of files ?

    Wait - I get it.
    I don't need to download the utility again. I just add the printer again.

    Thanks
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10

    Exactly. Just remove "both" printers and readd one. No software is reinstalled as it is already on your system.

    Originally, your system wanted to use AirPrint but in order to use the scanning capabilities, you must use the regular driver. So you installed the driver but in the process added two of the same printer.
     
  11. arncalars thread starter macrumors member

    arncalars

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Update:

    Turns out that it is not as straight forward anyway.

    When I removed both and added again in Canon utility, I lost the ICC profiles used by Aperture to define print quality on photo paper.
    And if I only add the USB equivalent version, I loose some of the benefits from the wifi-version.

    So, I reinstalled Canon Utility from Canons website once more and added the USB equivalent again, ending up with both printer versions shown in settings, but certain that everything is intact and nothing is missing.

    Another option though, is only have the wifi version and then download the ICC profiles in specified folder, but I'm not ready to do custom maneuvers yet.

    Thanks for advice.

    Regards Lars
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    To most the ICC profiles in Aperture do not matter. However, as long as everything is working fine for you that is what matters. Personally, when ever I get a printer to set up I use the included disk as a frisbee. The drivers are never up to date. Then I let my Mac install the software from Apple and I try to avoid AirPrint if at all possible.
     

Share This Page