Canon Pro-100 printer.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by swiftflo, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. swiftflo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #1
    I cannot get my Canon printer to work by wifi. It works fine by usb cable.

    I have gone through the wifi installation instructions and am 99.9% sure they are correct. I get to one point in the install were a message comes up to say that the printer is already setup.

    I don't really want to get a hub so if I can free up one of the usb connections on the back of the computer that is what I want.
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    You can see it in under "Printers" in System Preferences>Printers & Scanners?
     
  3. swiftflo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #3
    Yes I can see it under Preferences>printers& scanners, but it still will not work by wifi.
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    What does Canon say when you contacted their support group?
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    Be sure you have the latest drivers from Canon and try this:

    Delete the existing printer, give the Canon a static IP address in its network settings (something like xxx.xxx.xxx.50, the xxx numbers matching what your router gives out with DHCP) and set up the printer on the Mac as an IP printer.
     
  6. swiftflo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #6
    Still waiting for them to contact me.
     
  7. swiftflo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #7
    Reply from Canon.

    "Reinstall printer". Already done that so will have to contact them again.
     
  8. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #8
    I had this problem when I got my Pixma Pro-100, I think thats the printer your talking about? I couldn't get the WiFi to work until I did a firmware update for the printer via the USB cable. Once I did that I was able to redo the install procedures and it worked. Try making sure you have the most up to date firmware via Canon's website. BTW: To my understanding you can only do firmware updates to the printer when its connected through a USB cable.
     
  9. swiftflo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #9
    Thanks for all your replies.
    Now sorted - reinstalled the printer by deleting the original install and then doing a reinstall.
     

Share This Page