Canon Rebel XT problems! UPDATE

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rxl125, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. rxl125 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #1
    No matter what lens I use I get these black dots, especially at aperture's 7 to 32.

    These pictures were taken with different lens. I've only had my camera two weeks. I keep a lens on at all times, and put a lens cap back on after each shot.
    Please check them out on my web site.

    http://home.comcast.net/~lyonsr1975/Site/canon.html
     
  2. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    Looks like you have a ton of dust on your sensor. Take it to a camera store and have them clean it. (You can do it yourself but with that much dust, I wouldn't trust myself)
     
  3. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #3
    Yup, that is dust. That is the most I've ever seen though. I agree with Aperture, I wouldn't trust myself to clean it either.
     
  4. rxl125 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
  5. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #5
    Who did you buy it from? It could be possible I guess...
     
  6. rxl125 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #6
    I bought local. One thing that I didn't think about, but makes me think now is I bought the Rebel XT body only. Inside the box there was actually a lens, the guy check the box to make sure all the necessary pieces of the camera were there. Thus he took out the lens:) Everything looked brand new to me.
     
  7. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    As a general rule, one thing to remember is when you are changing lenses, hold the camera body facing down to prevent more dust from getting inside.
     
  8. rxl125 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #8
    After trying for an hour with the rocket blower, I was able to get most of the dust off the sensor. Not all though. I took the camera back, and they sprayed air in on the sensor. I thought that was a no no... Anyways, they let me exchange the camera after they could not get off the dust as well. So I actually upgraded to the XTI for the dust protection. I know I will still have to clean the camera but I shouldn't have that must dust on a sensor brand new.
     
  9. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #9
    It's generally a bad thing to spray canned air on the AA filter (which covers the sensor.) The air contains a propellant and is generally strong enough to cause problems by blowing particles into the wrong places. A squeeze blower doesn't have those problems.

    Early reports of independent testing say the Canon anti-dust system actually makes things worse, you may want to learn to clean the sensor yourself, especially given what your local store considers cleaning.
     

Share This Page