Canon scanner won't work with OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by perquesta, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. perquesta macrumors newbie

    perquesta

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #1
    I have a Canoscan 9000F flat bed scanner. When I attempt to scan a document I get the following error message: "The scanner is not available while in use by another application or user. 2.249.0" .

    I have loaded the latest Canon drivers for the scanner, but no matter what I try I still get the same error message.

    Does anyone else have this problem? Any thoughts about a solution?
     
  2. nos1609 macrumors newbie

    nos1609

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #2
    Same thing with the same scanner... The only thing I'd achieved is scanning through System Preferences -> Printers & Scanners -> Scan
    Canon drivers need an update and like it was the case with yosemite won't appear before the official release.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    The one thing I noticed is that scanners seem very sensitive to this sort of thing and any beta operating systems will break the software. As @nos1609 mentioned, you'll probably have to wait until after 10.11 is released to the public and even then you'll have to wait a while. Apple themselves may release a driver through the MAS, I see that occur for my Epson scanner and Canon printer, i.e., I no longer see updated drivers for them at the vendor site but I do get updates from apple
     
  4. SG- macrumors regular

    SG-

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #4
    are you able to use it with Image Capture app instead of whatever scanning software you're trying to use?
     
  5. perquesta thread starter macrumors newbie

    perquesta

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #5
    Thanks nos1609, maflynn and SG-.

    I reported the issue to Apple, using the Feedback Assistant and to Canon Support.

    Canon Support replied: "Please be advised that there is no driver or software for the CanoScan 9000F released from Canon that support OS X 10.11 yet; this could be the reason why you are having this issue." So it looks as if I will just have to be patient.

    They did suggest that I try using a different USB cable, but that didn't make any difference.

    I wasn't able to use the Image Capture app.
     
  6. mitchsaunders macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #6
    Same issue with scan with a MX456 Multi. Provided Canon Software (IJ Scan Utility), same error. Updated drivers and nothing. Image Capture said new software available so went ahead and downloaded that, and works off that since. Canon need to fix this - I remember I had the same issue with Yosemite beta last year.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    That's all Epson tells me to do for my scanner. They stopped providing the software when Yosemite hit the streets. that's why I'm not expecting much for 10.11 :(
     
  8. K6-III macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    Give Vuescan a try. Works with just about every scanner on the market, and has already been updated for El Cap.
     
  9. Klaatu63 macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    I found that when I attempted to scan a document on my Canon 9000f by way of the AutoScan button - nothing happened. No error message no nothing! But if I went into my Canon Utilities directory and clicked on the MP Navigator and selected the scan option icon everything worked normally.
     
  10. perquesta thread starter macrumors newbie

    perquesta

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #10
    Didn't work with me, I'm afraid. Still the same error message.
     
  11. p00l3y macrumors newbie

    p00l3y

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #11
    Same issue with the Pixma MP520 - Print :) Scan :(

    Might hunt around and see which kexts we would need to mod from 10,10 to get this working
     
  12. Knoodles macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #12
    No consolation but Canon 7120 multi working fine here using VueScan and/or Image Capture. Image Capture asked to download a software update for the scanner from Apple.
     
  13. djian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #13
     
  14. djian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #14
    Hi
    I have the same problem with OX El Capitan and my CanoScan 9000 F, with the same error message "...2.249.0".. Help me !!
     
  15. douwevt macrumors newbie

    douwevt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #15
    I have good experience with VueScan as mentioned in Knoodles's comment above, it works fine now, not with the standard Canon drivers but those are not used by VueScan
     
  16. djian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #16
    Thank you Douwevt ! VueScan 's working
     
  17. rws630 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    I got my Canoscan 9000F *after* upgrading to El Capitan and could not even install the Canon software. Luckily I already had Vuescan and although it has a user interface which is quirky, the software works and is regularly updated.
     
  18. mikfrak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #18
    I have Canon mg5450 and it is so much trouble to use with Apple that I have simply given up on it despite recently spending a fortune on ink. Canon products simply do not play nicely with OSX. Very good print quality, but driver support with OSX is utterly useless and I have spent more time trying to get the damn thing working than I ever did printing and Canon technical support is useless. I have decided to take the advice of Apple technicians and buy a HP printer. Not as good print quality, but a printer that works consistently is better than no printer at all.
     
  19. nitchwick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #19
     
  20. nitchwick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #20
    I was able to make it work by
    • downloading the most recent driver
    • plugging in the USB cable
    • powering the scanner on
    • opening the scanner from System Preferences/Printers
    • operating the scanner from my laptop, not using the Autoscan (etc) buttons on the scanner.

    Just don't use the Autoscan and other buttons on the scanner.

    Mary Kay
     
  21. Gochugogi macrumors regular

    Gochugogi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sandwich Isles
    #21
    I saw this thread and tried my CanoScan FS4000US, a 15 year old film scanner long unsupported by Canon. Canon quit releasing driver updates a couple years after I bought it! Fired up the FS4000US and scanned a slide with VueScan and it worked perfectly under OS 10.11. No unplugging cables or restarts needed. So VueScan is a great choice if you don't want to mess around with Canon's seedy and slow support.
     
  22. Isabellenanna macrumors newbie

    Isabellenanna

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Denmark
    #22
    i tried that, - but then it watermarks my scans. Did you buy it avoid that?
     
  23. Gochugogi macrumors regular

    Gochugogi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sandwich Isles
    #23
    Yes, it's excellent software and worth every penny if you're picky about scanning. VueScan is a one-man business and I'm pleased to pay his reasonable fee for software that works so well. On the other hand, not happy about paying Adobe's inflated prices for the same old...
     
  24. rmmj949 macrumors newbie

    rmmj949

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    #24
    Had this problem also...Went into Activity Monitor and stopped the Image Capture Extension process that was running. Restarted MP Navigator and scanning worked.
     
  25. martyx15 macrumors newbie

    martyx15

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    #25
    This worked for me.
     

Share This Page