Can't access encrypted hardrive anymore.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacNoob444, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. MacNoob444, Apr 4, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015

    MacNoob444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    #1
    I worked fine yesterday but today I can't get access to it. When I enter the password it just stands still and does nothing for about one minute(i took time) sometimes more, then the window with password shakes to indicate that is a wrong password. If i press "Unlock" again it shakes in a second. When I enter the wrong password intentionally it takes no more than a second for the window to shake. During this minute long time I can't use the computer normally either. I can scroll in chrome, but I have to dubble click all the links to use them, I can't write anything and I cant open any other program on the computer.

    Mavericks 10.9.4 and a Seagate Plus Backup Portable Drive btw.

    I've tried the disk utility Verify disk and it says it needs to be repaired, so I try to repair it but then it ask for the password. I enter the password and it "freezes" as described above, so I can't seem to do anything. Any idea how to fix this and not erase the whole disk?

    From disk utility: Verify

    Verifying volume “Untitled”The volume 1D0198BE-351D-4D4E-9F59-EBCC7D218864 appears to be OK
    Invalid content in journal
    The volume Untitled was found corrupt and needs to be repaired.Error: This disk needs to be repaired. Click Repair Disk.

    From disk utility: Repair
    Verifying and repairing partition map for “Seagate BUP Slim RD Media”
    The volume Boot OS X appears to be OK.The volume 1D0198BE-351D-4D4E-9F59-EBCC7D218864 appears to be OK
    The volume 1D0198BE-351D-4D4E-9F59-EBCC7D218864 appears to be OK
    Verify and Repair volume “Untitled” Repairing volume failed: Disk object invalid or unable to serialize.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Nope. Sounds like you will need to erase and start over.
     
  3. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #3
    I wonder if DiskWarrior could resolve that issue.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Will it work with FV2 turned on? Sure worth a try though.
     
  5. Taz Mangus, Apr 6, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2015

    Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #5
    According to Alsoft the makers of DiskWarrior:
    Which gives me the impression that it would not help out in this particular situation.
     

Share This Page