cant activate my iphone!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Chaka1988, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. Chaka1988 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    I have an iPhone 3GS that was previously running 4.1 jailbroken and unlocked with the iPad Baseband 06.15.00. Last night, I upgraded to iOS 5.0.1 through iTunes by mistake and now, after the phone has completed the upgrade and booted up, it isn't able to activate. When activating (I connected wifi) it times out while attempting to connect to the Apple server, and suggests I either try again or activate through iTunes. When I connect it back to iTunes, iTunes reports that there is no SIM installed. There definitely is and it was working fine prior to the upgrade.
    Any suggestions on what has gone wrong or how I could fix it?
    thanks in advance!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Good job upgrading a JB and unlocked iphone to stock firmware:rolleyes:
    Now your baseband is in inconsistent state and wont recognize not even official carriers or any sims.
    What you need to do is reflash the ipad bb.
    Depending on the shsh blobs you have you can restore to those particular firmware versions.
    You cant stay on 5.0.1 cause ultrasnow hasnt been updated for that firmware version.
    But you can always restore to custom 4.1 using pwnage or snowbreeze and after you do make sure you install the ipad baseband again
    Then open cydia and install ultrasnow to unlock.
     
  3. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    I will be hoesnt with you, I havent upgraded it. It was my little sister! I told her 1000 times not to do so.
    Could you please guide me the steps of what to do?

    you are a champ by the way for helping me out.
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Like AJ said, downgrade your phone back to 4.1 and you can bring your phone back to life. Do it quick because we don't know when Apple will stop signing 4.1 on 3GS.
     
  5. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    I have done it but the iphone couldnt be activated when i place the original sim card?
    Do i just need to rejailbreak it to solve the problem?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    You have done what? Restored it to 4.1?
    If you did you need to run redsnow and install the ipad bb again.
     
  7. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #7
    Yea doing that now... takes longer than usual for some reason
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, it takes a while.
    Make sure you dont touch it or unplug it.
     
  9. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #9
    It has been saying "Exploiting with limera1n" for like 5 minutes now. Is it normal?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    It didnt take that long with me but I never updated it from the ipad bb to stock and back to ipad. But interrupting it can cause damage so let it take as long as it needs.
     
  11. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #11
    I used a stock firmware to update back to 4.1. Should i have used a custom one instead?
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Yes.
     
  13. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #13
    ----------

    [/COLOR]
    Is there anywhere where I can get a direct link to a custom firmware download of 4.1?
    The thing is, pwnagetool stucks for some reason when I try to search for a firmware.
     
  14. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #14
    You can use official 4.1 firmware. However, you will get a 1015 error at the end. Just use TU or Ireb to exit recovery and your phone will boot up normally to activation screen.
     
  15. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #15
    When I used the official firmware I didnt get the 1050 error which i also expected. that was strange
     
  16. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #16
    As long as it boot up to activation screen, you are good to go to the next step.
     
  17. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #17
    Yea but it stucks on "exploiting with limera1n" part...
     
  18. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #18
    Try Greenpois0n and see if it goes through.
     
  19. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #19
    do i use the rc4 version?
     
  20. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #20
    Yes, use the rc4 version.
     
  21. Chaka1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #21
    Used it. It says on the iphones black screen - " error, no successful firmware download after 60000ms!! giving up...". whats next then?
     
  22. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #22
    Let go back to the drawing board. When you restore your phone to 4.1, did it boot up to the activation screen (emergency call screen)?
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    If all these programs get stuck then I'd use another computer to jb and unlock.
     
  24. phon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    #24
    I have my 3gs 4.3.1 5.16.02 new bootrom stucked at recovery mode, and nothing can kick it out.

    Being sick of look at that thingy :p, I went ahead updated to IOS5.0.1 this morning using Itunes through Apple while inserted an old non-working AT&T sim. And the phone just activated itself after restored and updated :p
     
  25. Kenneth D macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #25
    I found this thread and it fits my issue. My one problem is the original ISPW file is gone. So I've made one with snowbreeze and installed it and checked the hactivate option thinking it would activate it but no luck so far. I also installed 4.1 with snowbreeze with no luck there either. My next step will be redsnow. Does anyone know where I can get a copy without the installer? I don't want to install any crapware on my system to get the software.
     

Share This Page