Can't add movie to iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by pecck1, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. pecck1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #1
    I have two movies that to me seem identical, however one I can add to my iPad and one I cannot.

    This one works -

    [​IMG]

    This one does not -

    [​IMG]

    They look the same to me, can someone tell me where I wen't wrong?

    Thank you.
     
  2. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #2
    So one is from a Blu-ray and the other is from a DVD?
     
  3. Mac.World macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #3
    Download AVPlayerHD and then add the two files to the app. You'll be able to watch either one. Additionally, don't bother converting to mov or m4v formats with AVPlayer, unless this is for use wuth ATV?
     
  4. dnw1987 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #4
    So was there a way to convert home movies to begin with before this app?
     
  5. Mac.World macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #5
    Handbrake was used to convert DVDs or avi and mkv files to iPad friemdly mov mp4 or m4v file formats. With AVPlayer I don't bother converting anymore, unless I want the movie or tv show on my AppleTV.
     
  6. admwright macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Is it possibly the bit rate? One is at 2458Kbps the other is 3488Kbps. On the tech specs page for the iPad it has "MPEG-4 video, up to 2.5 Mbps", though it is not totally clear if that allpies to all video types.
     
  7. pecck1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #7
    They are both from a Bluray.
     
  8. pecck1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #8
    I need to keep it in the m4v format, I play it on my ATV2 and iPad2.
     
  9. pecck1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #9
    That is a very good question. Although, I would be surprised as I used the built in preset of iPad in HB. I'm also not sure how that would work, since I'm using the constant quality setting. I have a few others that won't play as well, I'm going to look at their bit rate.
     
  10. pecck1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #10
    It just occurred to me that those that don't work on the iPad have all been created since I upgraded to Lion.
     

Share This Page