Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chad.doebelin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2009
Hi guys, I'm having a problem with a 333mhz G3 iMac.

By trade I am a PC repair technician, I own and operate my own repair shop and hold a CompTIA A+ certification.

Someone gave this mac to me, I know it's old, so don't tell me to use it as a doorstop, when I received it it was in working condition running mac os 9.2.1 I think.

I cracked it open and installed more RAM, and added more VRAM as well because I had some old AGP ATI 3D Rage cards laying around in a box that were perfect donors.

I loaded OSX panther on it and was trying to get the dual booting option (classic & OSX) to run for some reason I thought it would be acceptable to just drag the OS folder from the CDROM onto the root.

After I did that, I told it to boot into classic mode. big mistake,

now when I turn the mac on, it just displays the old macos logo (two blue guys kissing) and then a question mark and repeats forever

I tried to boot from the CDROM by holding down the c key while booting, that does nothing.

I tried a MacOS 8 install CD, a 9.2.1 and a panther disc. I know that they were burned properly because I have an old 300mhz mac pro that recognises the disks and even lets me boot from them.

I was able to go into openfirmware by slamming a bunch of keys (i have a USB keyboard but it's not designed for apples so I don't have the command key) and reset the nvram and reset defaults and reset all, I also remembered seeing a button next to the CPU when I took the machine apart the first time. so I pulled it apart again and hit that button i think it said cuda on it or something.
all of this, and still get nothing.