Can't boot from 0S 9

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by powermi, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. powermi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #1
    Hi, now i have a problem on a powermac g4 gigabyte ethernet, cause i want to use it as file serve, its a dual 500 so ill expect better performance than on my actual server, a Quicksilver 733.
    The problem is once i want to run a 10.5 HD on the GBethernet, i get a kernel panic, i think due to the old firmware. in appleś website it is a manual that shows how to upgrade the firmware, but the problem is that you need os 9.

    i also have and iso of os 9, but every time that i burn it on a CD i cant boot from that CD. I have tried to install Classic on 10.4 but the ROM for the firmware does not work on that mode. any idea?

    i have to use 10.5 cause i need time machine and the lastest versions of some programs like transmission.

    thanks
     
  2. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #2
    This is somehow a crazy idea but if you have time try it:
    10.4 cd: format hdd and tick9 partitions
    os9 cd, try to boot usinc c

    see if it works
    .
    As you know I have a Gigabit Ethernet, and I was trying to do the same, the machine wouldn't boot os9, now it boots, although I didn't managed to install it yet :p
     
  3. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #3
    Thanks.. but i dont get the idea. could you explain it better please?
    i prefer to use the GB for the task of being a server due to it has one fan less, so less noise, and more power cause is a dual!

    thanks again.
     
  4. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #4
    I've read on an os9 torrent that the drive must be formated using 10.4 installer os (less) because of the os9.
    it's strange because 10.5 dvd has those drivers too.
     
  5. Volkstaia macrumors regular

    Volkstaia

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    East Coast of the US
    #5
    I think in some early os x installers you could install OS 9 if you did archive and install, although I'm not sure so take my post with a grain of salt.
     
  6. ResPublica macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #6
    Make sure you use a CD with at least OS 9.1 on it. Your machine came with OS 9.04 but a retail version of 9.04 probably does not work.

    In older versions of Disk Utility (10.4 and earlier, I think) you have this option for OS 9 support when partitioning hard drives. Could it have something to do with burning the CD? I honestly don't know...
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    Do you burn OS9 disk image with DU on a Mac?
    What graphics card do you have in GE ATM?
     
  8. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #8
    thanks.. a burned the iso on a PC, and the Graphic card is a Gforce 4 MX.
    This afternoon i will try all your tips, lets see.
     
  9. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #9
    SOLVED!

    after few hours i get it!

    i write the steps if someone need to boot on 9 to update the firmware.

    1. make two partitions on your HD. and format them on Mac Plus.
    2. install 10.4 or early on one.
    3. install Classic on the 10.4 partition.
    4. insert the os9 CD and start the installer. install it on the other free partition.
    5. go to preferences, and select to boot from the os9 partition.
    6. restart the computer.
    7. after boot on os9, chose the ROM file, and follow the instructions.

    PD: OS9 is really cool!

    thanks... now i have another powerpc alive on 10.5
     

Share This Page