Cant Boot From External Harddrive (usb)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CainFool, Mar 13, 2010.

1. CainFool macrumors newbie

Hi everyone. Sorry if I am in the wrong forum, as you can guess im a newbie at the forum - not at computers though (6 years experience.. :) )

So I have a 1TB WD Harddrive USB and I copied the Leopard Disk image and restored it onto it in a 500GB partition.

I have tried to boot it up normally by holding down Alt on startup but the drive doesn't come up. Ok.

I have tried going into the Startup Disk, it comes up and when I click on it and click restart it doesnt restart, it just does that Mac Beep thing.

I have recently just tried to boot it up manually using the Open Firmware technique. It doesn't work.

I have a PPC Mac and I know that they can't normally boot up USB Drives but the other users which I read on the thread how to boot up by the Firmware technique said they're PPC and it worked.

So if anyone can help, please do!

I just wanted to format my computer, My leopard disk is gone now but I got it copied JUST IN TIME to my Harddrive.

I formatted my computer and now i'm stuck on Tiger.

I have literally tried for weeks to try to get this done on my own but with absolute no luck. So if you can help me, please do - help a newb! :) :apple:

2. CainFool thread starter macrumors newbie

3. ayeying macrumors 601

ayeying

Hold alt. When the selection menu comes up, if the disk isn't shown, unplug it then replug it in.

Western Digital doesn't recommend using their external drives as bootable drives though. Just FYI.

4. CainFool thread starter macrumors newbie

Tried it - it doesn't work. I re-plugged it multiple times with no luck. There was a boy on the thread who used a WD to install Leopard and it worked.

5. ayeying macrumors 601

ayeying

I know it works. All my drives excluding 1x 120GB are Western Digitals. I've booted it off many times but usually are slower and some random issue on the newer drives.