Can't boot from Mountain Lion 10.8 bootable USB

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by askfriends, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. askfriends macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys...

    My friend is in big trouble, he has macbook (Late 2006) with 1.83 core 2 duo processor and mac os x 10.5 was installed at the time of purchase.

    Due to some problems, he formatted his hard drive and installed windows 7 on it, now he has only windows 7 on his macbook.

    Now he want to install Mountain Lion 10.8 back (he don't have installation disk which comes with macbook). so i downloaded mountain lion 10.8 from web which is almost 4.1 GB.

    Here is the procedure i followed to create a bootable stick.


    I formatted my Kingston 16 GB USB using Disk Utility with Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

    Then partitioned it with these configs.
    Volume Scheme:1
    Format: Mac OS Extended (Journeled)
    Options= selected GUID Partion Table

    Then in restore tab, i selected source as downloaded file named as InstallEDS.dmg (about 4.1gb) and dragged Usb in destination. then pressed restore.

    When i restated macbook and pressed option key (ALT) to load boot menu. It does not show usb, it only shows windows option.

    So please help me to solve it, anything wrong i did or if i missed anything.

    I want to install Mountain Lion 10.8 from USB Stick.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. askfriends thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #3
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    That I do not know.
    Your friend could always spend 19 USD and get the Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD from the Apple Online Store if the USB method will not work due to the lack of another Mac.

    But know, that either OS installation will require a clean install, thus erasing every volume / partition on the HDD and creating a new volume, thus Windows 7 will be lost, unless it gets backed up first.
     
  5. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #5
    Sorry to say but your machine can not (officially) run 10.8, Maximum is 10.7.4!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. askfriends thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #6
    Yes i want to install MAC only, and windows 7 is of no importance.

    Well i am currently doing the process again, thats why i can't confirm whether it shows in disk utility or not, as soon the process ends i will check it and tell u.

    thanks anyways.
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    It won't run, as I said in my last post your maximum (Officially) is Lion 10.7.4.

    But look here:

    [GUIDE] SUCCESS! Install 10.8 on OLD unsupported Mac

    Edit: But, it won't run 100% on your Macbook----- MacBooks with GMA 950 > Works, no QE/CI

    So, don't waste your time.
     
  8. askfriends thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #8
    yes i got your last post after i posted my reply.
    Now u mean i should download Mac Os Snow Leopard 10.6??
     
  9. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    Your Max. is 10.7.4, up to you what you want to install, but do know that Lion is kinda buggy, it comes with more features though than Snow Leopard, but SL is more stable.
     
  10. askfriends thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #10
    thank u so much for your support. i am going to download snow leopard 10.6.3 Intel.

    after that i will post here about the situation.

    hope to see u then.

    Have a good day!
     
  11. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #11
    Mate what if I want to create a bootable USB of mountain lion if my mac was shipped directly with it? (IE I do not have the installer in the app store as I have never purchased separately)... I have tried searching for it but no success

    Thanks and Regards
     
  12. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #12
    From the silent on this tread I have to assume that is not possible... right?
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Yes, it can be done. You need to grab the 4.7GB installer from Apple's servers using this process. Then use this free utility with an 8GB USB key to make your installer.
     
  14. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #14
    Thanks mate, not sure if I am that gutsy to follow that process and risk to screw my install, maybe sparing the 20 buck ML costs on the App Store is more appealing at the moment.
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    It won't hurt your current install at all.
     
  16. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #16
    maybe I need to read it again with the fresh mind of the morning as yesterday I have had a very busy day at work and I come home with my head wreaked.

    Will update you if something is not clear.

    Thanks for the support!
     
  17. PEN10k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
  18. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #18
    If it does not show up in Startup Disk, then it is not bootable.
     
  19. PEN10k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    But what if it looks like this? This supposed to be the usb?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #20
    Then it is bootable, as it does show up in Startup Disk after all. The icon just represents it as ejectable USB flash storage thumb drive.
     
  21. PEN10k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #21
    But it still won't appear when I hold down the option key, to choose the bootup disc.
    It just shows the regular boot up and the recovery 10.8 one..
     

Share This Page