Can't boot iMac (intel)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by crockett, Feb 13, 2009.

1. crockett macrumors member

I have a 24 inch iMac that is a little over a year old. It is running the current OSX with all updates but today it started screwing up out of the blue and rebooted it's self.

The first time it happened the machine kept trying to reboot several times but wouldn't fully reboot. It would then try to reboot again.

I finally got it to boot up completely but then the machine froze up forcing me to do a hard boot via the power switch. Now it boot's to a white screen for about 30 seconds, then goes to the white screen with the Apple logo and stops.

I tried to do a safe boot but couldn't get it to boot that way either.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm new to apples and don't know much on trouble shooting them.

2. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

Troubleshooting works much like any other computer:

1) Have you checked the system disk's integrity?

2) Have you tested the RAM?

3) Have you tried booting from known good media?

3. crockett thread starter macrumors member

I can't get the machine to boot up. It just stops at the white apple screen and won't load the OS now.

4. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

Again, have you tried the steps I mentioned?

I realize that the machine can't boot, but all of those can be done using the restore disks and/or other external media.

5. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

Mr. Giver '94

Do you have an external drive connected to it? Mine was doing the same thing until I figured out the drive was having issues. I unplugged it and the machine booted as normal. Mine is 5 months old btw...

6. crockett thread starter macrumors member

I don't have any external drives hooked up, but I just let the machine sit about a hour or so and now it booted up. I ran the disk utility and it came up ok with no errors.

As far as testing ram is there utility I can D/L to do that?

7. JediMeister macrumors 68040