Can't boot open firmware..

Admirator

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2011
7
0
Hi,

I'm trying to install Max OS X 10.5 on my

iMac 5,1
Intel Core 2 Duo
2,16 GHz
RAM: 1GB
667MHz


It obviously doesn't work right away with the Leopard installer, because I dont have the requiered 800 or so MHz.

So I tried to do this right here:
For those with 667Mhz PowerBooks (Or possibly other Macs that don't work with LeopardAssist):

1.) Place the 10.5 Install disk in your drive.
2.) Restart your Mac (don't use on the installer on the disk)
3.) After the chime, hold down COMMAND+OPTION+O+F until you see a light gray screen with black text
4.) let go of the keys and type in the following commands EXACTLY as shown, and hit the RETURN key after each line (you will see an "ok" confirming what you typed was correct):



dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
d# 867000000 encode-int " min-clock-frequency" property
d# 867000000 encode-int " max-clock-frequency" property
multi-boot

Select Leopard Install DVD
but when I press CMD-OPT-O-F at the chime, nothing happens.. Is that because I have an Intel system?

If so, is there any other way to install Leopard on my iMac? And yes, I've seen this Guide ( https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/371302/ ), but that looks incredibly difficult.. Is there an easy way like the CMD-OPT-O-F method?

Thx a lot!
Admirator
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,897
407
Inside
Last I checked 2.16Ghz is faster then 800Mhz. Leopard will install fine onto your iMac. Intell Macs do not have OpenFirmware.
 

Admirator

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2011
7
0
Well I did try to install it with the Leopad installer and it said "This cant be installed on this" or so..

And when I look at the system preferences, it says that I have only 667MHz.

Sooo.. any help?
 

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,427
786
Well I did try to install it with the Leopad installer and it said "This cant be installed on this" or so..
That sounds like you're trying to use the grey install disks from a different Mac. The install disks are model-specific and won't work on other models. You can buy a retail copy of Snow Leopard, which will work.
 

Admirator

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2011
7
0
Wrong disk, you need a white snow leopard disk. Should be around $29 US.
But right now, I only have Mac OS X 10.4 installed on my iMac, SnowLeopard ist 10.6 right?
Can I just make that jump from 10.4 to 10.6 without installing 10.5 Leopard first?

And is my iMac compatible with SnowLeopard?
 

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,427
786
But right now, I only have Mac OS X 10.4 installed on my iMac, SnowLeopard ist 10.6 right?
Can I just make that jump from 10.4 to 10.6 without installing 10.5 Leopard first?

And is my iMac compatible with SnowLeopard?
Yes, it's compatible and yes you can go straight to SL from Tiger.
 

Admirator

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2011
7
0
Thanks a lot! So, when buying SnowLeopard, what should I look out for so that I dont end up with another model-specific disk?
 

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,427
786
Thanks a lot! So, when buying SnowLeopard, what should I look out for so that I dont end up with another model-specific disk?
Buy SL from Apple or Amazon, not eBay. A retail copy will work with any model. Only the grey install disks that are shipped with Macs are model-specific.
 

Admirator

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 31, 2011
7
0
Yes, but you see I only find SnowLeopard Upgrades on Amazon/Apple, that require a 10.5 Leopard OS to be installed... like this one for example: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC573Z/A?fnode=MTY1NDAzOA

But as you know, I have 10.4 installed, and you said I could make the jump from 10.4 to 10.6 directly..

Can you show me a SnowLeopard CD on the Apple-Store or Amazon that I can use for this purpose?
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,366
978
New England
Can you show me a SnowLeopard CD on the Apple-Store or Amazon that I can use for this purpose?
The upgrade from 10.5 is a license requirement, not a physical or technical restriction.

Any retail 10.6 disc can be used to clean install on any compatible Mac. Just avoid the grey discs this time.

B
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.