Can't boot open firmware..

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Admirator, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Admirator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to install Max OS X 10.5 on my

    iMac 5,1
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2,16 GHz
    RAM: 1GB
    667MHz


    It obviously doesn't work right away with the Leopard installer, because I dont have the requiered 800 or so MHz.

    So I tried to do this right here:
    but when I press CMD-OPT-O-F at the chime, nothing happens.. Is that because I have an Intel system?

    If so, is there any other way to install Leopard on my iMac? And yes, I've seen this Guide ( http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=371302 ), but that looks incredibly difficult.. Is there an easy way like the CMD-OPT-O-F method?

    Thx a lot!
    Admirator
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Last I checked 2.16Ghz is faster then 800Mhz. Leopard will install fine onto your iMac. Intell Macs do not have OpenFirmware.
     
  3. Admirator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #3
    Well I did try to install it with the Leopad installer and it said "This cant be installed on this" or so..

    And when I look at the system preferences, it says that I have only 667MHz.

    Sooo.. any help?
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Where did you get the Leopard disk? What color is the disk?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    That sounds like you're trying to use the grey install disks from a different Mac. The install disks are model-specific and won't work on other models. You can buy a retail copy of Snow Leopard, which will work.
     
  6. Admirator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #6
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Wrong disk, you need a white snow leopard disk. Should be around $29 US.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
  9. Admirator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #9
    But right now, I only have Mac OS X 10.4 installed on my iMac, SnowLeopard ist 10.6 right?
    Can I just make that jump from 10.4 to 10.6 without installing 10.5 Leopard first?

    And is my iMac compatible with SnowLeopard?
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Yes, it's compatible and yes you can go straight to SL from Tiger.
     
  11. Admirator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #11
    Thanks a lot! So, when buying SnowLeopard, what should I look out for so that I dont end up with another model-specific disk?
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Buy SL from Apple or Amazon, not eBay. A retail copy will work with any model. Only the grey install disks that are shipped with Macs are model-specific.
     
  13. Admirator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #13
    Yes, but you see I only find SnowLeopard Upgrades on Amazon/Apple, that require a 10.5 Leopard OS to be installed... like this one for example: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC573Z/A?fnode=MTY1NDAzOA

    But as you know, I have 10.4 installed, and you said I could make the jump from 10.4 to 10.6 directly..

    Can you show me a SnowLeopard CD on the Apple-Store or Amazon that I can use for this purpose?
     
  14. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    The upgrade from 10.5 is a license requirement, not a physical or technical restriction.

    Any retail 10.6 disc can be used to clean install on any compatible Mac. Just avoid the grey discs this time.

    B
     

Share This Page