Cant change desktop background!!

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by JamesGorman, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    Whenever I try to right click on the desktop and click "change desktop background" it just plays the error sound. And theres no longer an option for it in system preferences. The only way I can change it is if I select an image from the internet, and right click on it, and select "set as.."
     
  2. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Wow, I never knew you could right click the desktop! :D

    Sorry, I don't have an answer to your issue x3
     
  3. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    What version OS are you on? in tiger, and leopard.
    It might be a permissions issue, go to disk utility, or run it off the DVD and repair permissions. Also it sounds like system preferences might well of been moved outta the applications folder. you can check, HD>Applications>sys prefs.
     
  4. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    well that was helpful wasnt it now?? :rolleyes:
     
  5. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #5
    Ive done it all guys, and still nothing works. The only thing I can think off is an archive and install. But I really dont want to do that just because I cant change the background. Hopefully when I upgrade to sl it will be solved.Its just a minor inconvenience right now.
     
  6. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    if you go directly to system preferences what happens? it might be the preference panes have gone walkies.. thus when you right click it cant find what the contextual menu is referring to..

    PTP
     
  7. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #7
    Thats what I get on the system preferences window.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Drewsky87 macrumors 6502

    Drewsky87

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #8
    When you goto 'System/Library/PreferencePanes' I'm assuming that DesktopScreenEffectsPref.prefPane is not there?

    Trying giving this a shot maybe.
     

Share This Page