Can't Change dock at all

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Nexion21, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Nexion21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #1
    Brand new to these forums so if i do anything wrong let me know...
    Anyway, I was using my VNC yesterday and when i got back home to my desktop, my dock was changed to the 2d version, like the one you would see if you have your dock on the left or right. I'm running Snow Leopard, and i used to have an edited dock from leoparddocks.

    I've tried everything from terminal commands, replacing the frontline, scurve, ect. files in the core folder... nothing seems to work. I also try to use Killall dock in terminal and i get the message "no matching processes belonging to you were found"

    -help if you can =D
     
  2. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #2
    The killall command is case-sensitive. Correct command is:
    Code:
    killall Dock
    
     
  3. Nexion21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #3
    oops i mistyped that in my post, I have been using the one you said, which gives me that message
     
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    That's... not possible. Unless the Dock isn't running. The error message you posted would seem to indicate that you probably didn't capitalize the word Dock. Try that again. You can also use Activity Monitor to do the same thing.

    jW
     
  5. Nexion21, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011

    Nexion21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #5
  6. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #6
    In Terminal, type
    Code:
    $ defaults write com.apple.dock no-glass -boolean NO
    killall Dock
     
  7. Nexion21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #7
    You, my friend. are awesome. Completely fixed my problem =D
     

Share This Page