Can't change screenshots in iTunes Connect

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Sven11, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. Sven11, Sep 17, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013

    Sven11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #1
    A few days ago I created an app update and didn't have the time to set up new app screenshots so I thought let's do it later. Unfortunately when I came back it was immediately in review for days and I wasn't able to change the screenshots. Now after it has been approved I still can't change the screenshots.

    Did Apple remove the ability to change your screenshots after your apps are in review or released on the App Store?!?

    That sucks. Especially since it was an iOS 7 update, so it has a completely new UI now.
     
  2. xArtx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2
    Yes, you have to do an update to change them now.
     
  3. Sven11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #3
    So upload the same binary again? What will the users think if there is no change at all in the update?
     
  4. xArtx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    No, I mean you have to do a real update.
    They changed it some time while I've been here. I guess they got tired of checking all the new ones.
     
  5. Sven11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #5
    So I can't even make an update with no changes in it?
     
  6. xArtx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    Yes you probably could, but I don't think your users would appreciate it.
    It's not hard to come up with some small new feature... new setting, new localisation, etc.

    I don't know if you can reject it while actually in review or not, but i wouldn't.
     
  7. Sven11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #7
    Is it actually even possible use the exact same version number in an update?

    Well I contacted Apple, I think I'll wait to see what they say...
     
  8. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #8
    It's not. Apple requires the update to have an increased version number.
     
  9. xArtx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #9
    Basically, hold back a small feature in case a bug is found,
    then when you do an update, it doesn't have to be just a bug fix.
    I used one of mine just to do an update with 120x120 icon.
     
  10. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #10
    Performance enhancements and bugfixes. Has worked for me in the past.

    You also can't change the search keywords without an update. My customer wanted to change them...
     
  11. dantastic macrumors 6502

    dantastic

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #11
    This was 'news' a while back.
    Essentially it was to prevent rampant bait and switch on the store where some clown would upload something that would just about compile and pass review.

    Then after approval change description and images to look like some other much more popular game or app.

    Users would download the crappy copy and it would look nothing like the screenshots.

    bait & switch at its finest.

    So I wouldn't be complaining about it, it's to protect the genuine apps and aid in app store confidence. All good in my book.
     

Share This Page