Can't check for updates!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by f1restarter, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. f1restarter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Tried to check for updates on my OS X Lion MBP and it gives me "Software Update can't check for updates because of a network problem". The file “index-lion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog” couldn’t be found on the server “swscan.apple.com”. Anyone else having issues with this? My internet connection is running just fine. First time I've seen this message as it has been updating previously without any problems. :confused:
     
  2. Nermal, Sep 4, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2011

    Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    It's working here so it's not a server-side issue. Open up Terminal and do a "cat /etc/hosts" and paste the output here.

    Edit: See below.
     
  3. spring macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
  4. Rox1256 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #4
    Same problem for me!.. I have never seen this before..:(
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I missed the part about running 10.7; perhaps it's an issue with that particular file on the server (I'm on 10.6).
     
  6. spring macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #6
  7. anidream macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #7
    I have the same issue for both MBP.. what is going on !!
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Says cant find SL file...
    Anyone with same problem???
     
  9. anidream macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #9
    the last post from Apple support forum was about 24 hours ago... So this is been going on for more the 24 hours ?
     
  10. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Anyone with same problem:confused:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. anidream macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #11

    I have the exactly same issue.. funny it says Lion-SnowLeopard-Leopard ... the whole Apple server is down i guess
     
  12. spring macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #12
    Yeah, I'm getting the same error message.
     
  13. yitwail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #13
    same problem...good to know it's (probably) not a problem with my Mac. :rolleyes: Before I came to this thread, I found others that mentioned a similar error message, but apparently with different causes. Some people get the message until they upgrade Little Snitch--unfortunately, I don't have Little Snitch. It was also suggested that you should create a different administrator user & update as that user--tried that, but it didn't work. So I guess I'll just monitor this thread...or call :apple: tomorrow.
     
  14. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    Probably Apple is down for maintenance or something.
    Im pretty sure its nothing to worry about.
    If not recovered by this week, then ill call Apple but, im guessing its not even going to last 1 day.

    ----------

    Seems like they like to merge everything into one lol
     
  15. canis-orca macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #15
    Go PumaTigerPantherLeopardLion!
     
  16. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Interesting, confirmed. I've never seen this before, no doubt it's maintenance (look at the time).
     
  17. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #17
    Yeah Apple is in Cupertino and thats where I live so its 12AM right now.
    Kinda weird how they do it at 12 though.

    Many place do updates at later time like 3AM.
     
  18. yitwail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #18
    But probably not every night, or else it would be a well-known fact that you get this message when you try to update after midnight in Cupertino. So we're the unlucky ones who happened to try to update manually this evening/early morning.:D
     
  19. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #19
    Haha true! XD
    Im a Mac user since 1999 (really started using it in 2001) but never seen this problem in my life. Must be rare!
     
  20. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
  21. adrian1480 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
  22. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #22
    Nope, its running fine.
    I just checked it right now.
    I suspect its your Mac or your internet.
     

Share This Page