Can't connect thunderbolts?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iamJaymes, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. iamJaymes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #1
    I bought a thunderbolt cable, hoping i can quickly zoom files from my 2011 27" iMac and my 2015 macbook air.

    i plugged it in and my air has thunderbolt bridge ready to go but my iMac isn't having it, doesn't do anything when the cable is connected. I checked system report and it's saying the port is in use but nowhere else is showing it.

    I tried clicking the plus in Network to see if i can add thunderbold bridge but its just ethernet and other options.

    Did I miss something glaringly obvious? =/
     
  2. Superspeed500 macrumors regular

    Superspeed500

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #2
    Have you tried to set the iMac in target disk mode?
     
  3. iamJaymes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #3
    no. I was under the impressions thats just if you want to use one mac as a display for the other? I want to keep both macs running and working independently but use the cable to transfer files.

    Am I wrong?
     
  4. MRxROBOT macrumors 6502

    MRxROBOT

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Location:
    1011100110
    #4
    If you want to transfer files while both Macs are on, make sure to turn file sharing on. It's located in System Preferences --> Sharing

    Thunderbolt does however have faster throughput in Target Disk Mode. Start the Mac while holding the 'T' Key.
     
  5. iamJaymes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #6
    It's on.

    I followed this exact tutorial, got to network and thunderbolt bridge just isnt there in my imac.
     
  6. iamJaymes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #8
    10.8.5
     
  7. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
  8. iamJaymes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #10
    I swear another tutorial said I needed 10.6.8 minimum.
    I'll see if I can update to 10.9, thanks for your help. was driving me slightly mad.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 25, 2016 ---
    I tried updating it says my hard drive has SMART errors so I can't update.
    How else can I use this cable to transfer files? Must have been a way before Bridge came alone? =s
     
  9. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #11
    If your drive has S.M.A.R.T. errors, that means it is failing and you should backup the drive and replace it right away before it becomes unreadable.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 25, 2016 ---
    You can transfer files using Target Disk Mode:

    https://support.apple.com/kb/PH10725?locale=en_US

    However, what you really need to do is to buy a replacement drive, clone your failing drive to the replacement using a USB3 enclosure or adapter, then swap the new drive into your computer.

    This is a good time to consider upgrading to an SSD which will immensely speed up your computer.
     
  10. iamJaymes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #12
    I'm in the UK and every price I keep seeing is over £200 ... for a HDD? Probably cheaper to sell my imac and buy another 2011 27" with a healthier HDD ....
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    OP wrote:
    "...hoping i can quickly zoom files from my 2011 27" iMac and my 2015 macbook air."

    Probably the best way to do this is with a plain-old-fashioned USB flash drive.
    Yes, it's a couple of extra steps, but.... IT WORKS.
     

Share This Page