Cant connect to aim 1.0 on mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cky923, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. cky923 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    i want to try an alternative to ichat on my mac
    when i launch it and put in my password and stuff
    it just says connecting...
    i have waited half an hour, and it cannot connect. Help???
    please
    Thanks
     
  2. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Why are you trying an alternative to iChat when iChat is made to connect to aim servers?

    You can try Adium.
     
  3. cky923 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #3
    because aim has more compatability with my friends that use windows
    i.e thier chat backgrounds and alert sounds
     
  4. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Try going to your firewall settings in Sys Pref/Security/Firewall and adding the Aim program to it Allowing all Connections
     
  5. cky923 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #5
    Didn't work
    :(
     

Share This Page