Can't connect to wifi

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by throttle, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. throttle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    #1
    Hey everyone,
    I haven't been able to connect to my wifi since starting up this morning. I found a bunch of other threads about this but couldn't find anything that worked with my problem, so here are the details.

    I'm able to connect to the ethernet without a problem, and I am able to connect to the wifi from my iphone and ipad. I have also tried restarting the router and modem a few times and changing settings with the security in the router but still was not able to connect from my laptop. (the other devices were able to connect each time with no problem so I'm pretty sure it's not the router)

    When trying to connect normally through the wifi icon in the menu bar, it tells me "Connection timeout"

    When going through system preferences-->network-->assist me, it tells me "The password you entered is invalid." (I've checked it many times, and even tried changing the router password and wifi name thinking another router may be confusing it, no luck, and the password is not incorrect)

    When going through the diagnostic, it lets me select the network and enter a password but then tells me, "This computer was unable to join the AirPort Network you selected. You may have entered an incorrect password or network name, chosen the wrong type of wireless security, or you may be out of range of the base station." (again, the password was not entered incorrectly, and I am within a couple of feet of the router and it worked just fine last night)

    From what I've read online, if the wifi card was bad it wouldn't even show the available network names or be able to turn the card on in the first place. I've tried restarting my computer, resetting pram, and rebooting to the Windows 7 bootcamp which is also unable to connect.

    I'm running OSX 10.6.8 and it's an '07 macbook pro. Under system profiler, the airport card shows
    Software Versions:
    Menu Extra: 6.2.2 (622.2)
    configd plug-in: 6.2.5 (625.6)
    System Profiler: 6.0.1 (601.1)
    Network Preference: 6.2.2 (622.2)
    AirPort Utility: 5.6.1 (561.3)
    IO80211 Family: 3.2 (320.1)
    Interfaces:
    en1:
    Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x87)
    Firmware Version: Atheros 5416: 2.1.14.6
    Locale: FCC
    Country Code: US
    Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 a/b/g/n
    Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165
    Status: Not Associated​

    I've provided as much info as I can think to give, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. throttle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    #3
    It's a Netgear N150 WNR1000v3
    Firmware: V1.0.2.54_60.0.82NA (updated today)
     
  4. rdradu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #4
    Bump - I am currently having this exact same problem with a MBPro with the same specs. Any help would be appreciated.

     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    OP:

    Did the connection problems begin IMMEDIATELY AFTER you upgraded the firmware?
     
  6. rdradu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #6
    No, could not connect prior to that.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    Can you take the MacBook to SOMEWHERE ELSE that has wifi (such as a coffee shop)?
    Does the wifi work there?
    Or... still the same problems?
     
  8. rdradu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #8
    Took it to a local Starbucks and connected instantly - I can also tether it to my iPhone no problem. Still will not connect to our home SSID and yet I have at least 6 other devices connected.
     
  9. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9
    "Took it to a local Starbucks and connected instantly - I can also tether it to my iPhone no problem. Still will not connect to our home SSID and yet I have at least 6 other devices connected."

    Then... I sense the problem is something about how your home wifi is set up... or perhaps the settings on the MacBook.

    You might try deleting all existing networks (in the Network pref pane), and starting over.

    Alternative approach:
    - Create a NEW user with administrative privileges (for test purposes only).
    - Do not install anything into this account other than Apple's own software
    - Try to connect through the new user. Still have problems?
     
  10. murnau macrumors regular

    murnau

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    #10
    In the router - choose some channel under 10. That should do it.
     
  11. rdradu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #11
    This made no sense as all my other devices connect without any problem, but just to be sure, I changed to channel 10 with no change - still cannot connect with the MBPro.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 20, 2018 ---
    Great tips and I tried these but no change - still cannot connect.
     
  12. murnau macrumors regular

    murnau

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    #12
    Well, it does make sense since some broadcom chips do not support chanels over 10.
     
  13. rdradu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    #13
    But, if you read my issue, this came about suddenly as I was able connect one day, then suddenly was no longer able to. I do appreciate the reply though, and never hurts to rule out this possibility.
     
  14. murnau macrumors regular

    murnau

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    #14
    Yes, I saw. But sometimes the router changes itself its settings and fron below chanel 10 it goes suddenly beyond 10. This could explain your issue and could explain also my reply. I solved my problem at home exactly like this.
     

Share This Page