iPhone Can't control volume with side buttons?!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by NateEssex, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. NateEssex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #1
    Since my jailbreak, I Can't control volume with side buttons?! Ideas? I've tried to turn Activator off, but to no avail.
     
  2. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    What do you have installed?
     
  3. NateEssex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #3
    What do I have installed?

    From the Packages section:

    Activator
    BiggBoss Icon Set
    bit SMS to Green SMS
    **I removed Bite SMS because I thought that was the cause.
    Cydia Installer
    Cydia Translations
    Cyntact
    Default HD SBSettings
    evasion 6.0-6.1 Untether
    Five Icon Dock
    iFile
    Mobile Substrate
    My3G
    ResetAllKiller
    SBSettings
    sbsettingstoggles
    Serious SBSettings HD
    Substrate Safe Mode
    WinterBoard
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    Wow I'm surprised because I don't see anything there that could cause this problem. Are you currently using winterboard? Do the volume buttons work in safe mode? I'd try removing or disabling winterboard temporarily to see if that's the cause. I can't imagine it would be though. But outside of that, I don't know what could be the culprit. You could also try disabling one tweak at a time until you find the culprit. That's usually what info if something isn't right. I just go down the list and disable one then use the phone to see if it still has the problem. If it does, then I disable another one and so on and so forth until I determine the offending tweak.
     
  5. NateEssex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #5
    Tried disabling and uninstalling apps, and still no luck.

    I just restored with 6.1.2 as a new phone, not from backup. The volume buttons still don't work--on screen I just get the "ringer" title with the icon for volume, but no bars at the button showing the level of audio. For some reason, when I plug in my headset the buttons work and the screen shows the volume level.

    Thoughts? Apple store visit? The volume buttons worked before I jailbroke it.
     
  6. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #6
    Wow bro that's crazy. So you did a fresh restore to 6.1.2 and did from backup? And the buttons still don't work? I assume you tried the buttons before resyncing your content. Is that the correct assumption? There's no way the jailbreak could break the buttons. It's impossible. If the buttons don't work on a fresh install of 6.1.2 then it sounds like you are having a hardware issue. You could also try a DFU Restore as New and don't sync anything and don't set up iCloud right away and try your buttons in this factory default setup. But I'm not sure that's gonna be any different than what you've already done. But I'd try it just to save the trip. I'm anal about my restores and I always DFU Restore as New just to be safe. But thousands of people don't restore with this method and never have any problems.

    If you're having a hardware problem then it's just a coincidence this started after the jailbreak. I'm so baffled by this. Sorry I can't help you. I've never experienced this.
     
  7. NateEssex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #7
    Well, I tried it again from DFU and still it doesn't work. I made an Apple Store appointment for tomorrow. I just hope they can't tell I JBed it.
    Thanks for your input. If anyone else knows anything to try, please let me know.
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    As long as you restored the phone to 6.1.2 and didn't re-jailbreak the device, they won't know it was ever jailbroken. Good luck. Let us know the outcome.
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    sounds like a hardware issue making the appointment is the best idea.
     
  10. NateEssex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #10
    Apple Store

    Well, I went to the Apple Store, where they ran a diagnostic. They replaced it with no questions of Jailbreaking, free of charge.

    Thanks for the input, guys.
     

Share This Page