Cant copy hypertext from safari to ichat

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by spitboy2000, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. spitboy2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    When I copy a hyperlink (text with URL link) in Safari to Mail, it keeps the URL link. But when I copy it to iChat, I lose the URL link. Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Just drag the URL from the address bar in Safari to the iChat window and it will work.
     
  3. spitboy2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    maybe i miscommunicated -- im trying to copy text WITH an HTML link. A "hyperlink".

    When I copy a piece of hypertext from Safari to iChat, it loses the link. But when I copy hypertext from Safari to Mail, it keeps it.

    How do I keep the link when I copy it to iChat? (edited)
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You're contradicting yourself. Are you copying it FROM Safari TO iChat, as you originally said, or are you copying it TO Safari, as you're saying now?

    If you click on the link in Safari, it will appear in your address bar. Then you can simply drag the link to iChat. If you're trying to do something else, you have to be more clear in your explanation.
     
  5. spitboy2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #5
    I'm trying to copy a hypertext. That's text with a URL. Like a headline on google news.

    "APPLE TABLE ANNOUNCED, WILL CHANGE WORLD"

    If I copy that headline from safari, where it has a link to the article, to iChat, it turns out to be just the text with no link.

    When I copy the hypertext from safari to Mail, it keeps the link.

    Sorry if i wasn't clear.

    Thnx

    edited my last message.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    As I said at first:
    1. Click the link to open the page in a new Safari window or tab.
    Picture 1.jpg
    2. Drag the link, as I said in my first post:
    Picture 2.jpg
     
  7. spitboy2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #7
    thnx

    but you can't copy and paste like you can with Mail? that seems weird.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, you can do that, too:
    Picture 4.jpg
     
  9. spitboy2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #9
    this is weird it's all working now
    maybe im a total idiot
    sorry for the trouble
    thnx
     

Share This Page