Can't create partition on Sn Leopard for Mt Lion

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by karen swaty, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. karen swaty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #1
    I just got a used late 2011 iMac with 10.6.8 installed and want to partition the HD for Mt Lion because I still need SL for some things. I've done it before and I've been reacquainting myself with the process with lots of reading and youtube videos. Everything I read said that I should be able to partition on the fly in SL, but when I tried that it failed and I got a message that said I need a newer version of the OS to partition the disc. So I made a bootable clone to an external drive with SD and booted from that to do it....and I got the same message. So how can that be - doesn't seem to make sense. It's 1tb drive with 973gb of free space. Any ideas?
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It means exactly what it says someone has created the partition that your SL is installed on with a later version of the OS. Two options upgrade the clone to a version of the OS that created the partition then you can re-partition to install second OS on machine, second wipe internal drive partitions if it will let you starting with blank free space then partition and clone back your now external OS then install new.
     
  3. karen swaty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #3
    Well that makes sense - thank you very much. Looks like my only option is to wipe the drive, which has only 1 partition.
     
  4. karen swaty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #4
    Well, maybe I could download Yosemite and make a bootable flash drive - boot from that and use that disc utility to partition. Does that sound like it could work?
     
  5. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Yes anything that will allow you to partition it would work now you would have to make sure that model is supported by Yosemite or it will refuse to boot saying it is not compatible. Mavericks should be good to go for it though so get both if you can.
     

Share This Page