Can't customize Microsoft Mouse 5000 buttons

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by John.D, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. John.D macrumors newbie

    John.D

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #1
    Apple doesn't seem to allow you to customize the extra mouse buttons on the Microsoft Bluetooth Mouse 5000.

    I downloaded and installed Microsoft's Intellimouse 6.2.1, but that doesn't seem to either!


    Please help!

    Thanks in advance :)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What do you want to customise them for on what Mac OS X version?

    I have the MM 6000 and can customise the buttons for Exposé & Spaces.
     
  3. John.D thread starter macrumors newbie

    John.D

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #3
    Mac OS 10.6.8

    What is the difference as far as what I want to set each button to do?

    When you say "MM 6000", that's the microsoft 6000, correct? That isn't bluetooth, correct, only wi-fi?


    Anyone know of any 5+ button bluetooth mouses that mac can actually work with? I get one step closer to returning to the windows/linux world every day, it's sad.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Ah, I meant the Comfort Mouse 6000, it is a USB mouse.

    As for customisation, you could take a look at USB Overdrive, though I don't know, if it works with cordless mice.

    I don't completely understand, but if you told us, what you want each button to do, maybe we could help presenting alternatives or solutions.

    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  5. John.D thread starter macrumors newbie

    John.D

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #5
    Thanks.

    I want button 4 to go back in browsers (command+]) and the middle button to show desktop (F11).

    I'm running a free trial of SteerMouse right now and it works great, but I am absolutely not paying $20 or whatever it is for the license when the time comes.

    Great app, but I already shelled out the extra beans for the Apple, why is it that every single time ya turn around you have to buy more and more things to make it functional?!

    Want a new mouse? Better have an extra $20 budgeted for the mac-specific application you'll need to use that mouse.

    Think hooking up your new HDTV to your comp is a cool idea? Better have the extra $50 for the hdmi-to-minidisplay adapter you'll need... and we all know even then it's only going to work 1 out of every 7 times you want it to.

    I don't know, I'll stop, I'm sorry, it's just frustrating.

    Thanks again for the help though :)
     

Share This Page