Can't Cut & Paste Anymore

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by tyler550, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. tyler550 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #1
    Hello,

    Just upgraded to El Cap (10.11.3) & I can no longer cut & paste folders from external HD's to my mac.I can only copy & paste.
    I'm highlighting the item to be moved,then typing Command-C (to copy),then navigating to the destination window & pressing Command-Option-V (to paste) only to see this message pop up:

    There are some locked items in the Trash. Do you want to remove all the items, including the locked ones, or just the unlocked items?


    I have no items in the trash so what has gone wrong? I've been cutting/pasting successfully since Lion & now I have issues.I would appreciate any feedback.

    Thank you
    Tyler.
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    This works for me...
    Using the mouse,
    right-click on folder to be moved and select Copy,
    navigate to desired location and right-click on a bare spot, you will see a Copy selection in the menu, now press the option/Alt key and Copy will change to a move function.
     
  3. tyler550, Feb 18, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016

    tyler550 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #3

    Didn't work but thank you for responding.
    The moment it tries to move the file I get this message again

    "There are some locked items in the Trash. Do you want to remove all the items, including the locked ones, or just the unlocked items?"


    Now that I have calmed down I've been able to trouble shoot the situation more calmly & logically.
    After experimenting more I've found out that it's only affecting one of the 3 External WD HD's that I'm using,specifically a WD Elements 2TB HD.It's a brand new HD,the other 2 which are Jurassic in age & different WD models work fine.

    Why would the upgrade only effect the new external HD,how can there suddenly be a compatibility issue with the new one & not the older 2? There's no way that the offending external HD suddenly became faulty.

    My Mac detects the offending WD HD,I can read all the info on it,I can copy & paste from it to my mac but I cannot cut & past from it to my mac nor can I copy & paste to the WD drive itself.

    I don't have any WD software installed on my mac & I run an NTFS driver so there shouldn't be any compatibility issues.
    El Cap is effecting this particular external HD but I don't know why,I would really appreciate any feedback.

    Thank you.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  5. tyler550 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #5
    As I have already stated in my original post,I'm running an NTFS driver on my mac so there's no need for me to be formatting anything.I plug & play out of the box with no issues.I have 2 other WD HD's that are working flawlessly,it's only this particular model that is giving me trouble.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    You mean your second post. Wouldn't rule out a format issue for me.

    What version of what NTFS driver is installed?

    BTW, I would never, ever use a pre-formatted-for-Mac drive out of the box and the same goes for NTFS. It's based on past experience. However, I wouldn't want to use a Mac to format a NTFS or FAT drive, either.
     

Share This Page