Can't delete a specific 3rd party app

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by uncleiven, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. uncleiven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    As per the picture, I can't delete this app that failed to install on my iP7p

    Any suggestions, I've tried a few things I've found online but to no avail.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Do a backup, wipe, and restore from backup?

    I don't believe this "app" would remain on your device after that.
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    Have you tried removing it from storage settings?
     
  4. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #4
    It doesn't show in the storage settings as it never got fully installed.

    I don't really want to go through a full wipe and restore if I have to - any other suggestions.

    I've also connected it to iTunes and I can't delete it from there.
    Signing out of the App store does nothing and neither does rebooting the phone.
     
  5. Bart Kela macrumors 6502a

    Bart Kela

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    No Service
    #5
    Did you try to reinstall the original app which I presume isn't called what is on the screen?
     
  6. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    I have tried that and the install failed again
     
  7. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
  8. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #8
  9. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #9
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    So it does install Kodi but then I can't do anything with this other "app" no matter what I try
     
  10. Bart Kela macrumors 6502a

    Bart Kela

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    No Service
    #10
    It would have been helpful if you had mentioned in your original post that you downloaded the app from an untrusted source, not the App Store. That's a crucial piece of information that you withheld.

    I have no experience in dealing with such matters so I will bow out of this discussion.

    Good luck.
     
  11. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Not quite given that as you can see it's not quite the same as it is when it comes to installing and deleting app that are from the App Store.

    Did you have to install some profile or something like that to install that app? Perhaps removing that profile would help?
     
  13. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #13
    I've seen this happen with apps from the App Store aswell. Just want it gone
     
  14. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #14
    Looks like it's going to be a full restore job. I'm part of the public Beta program and on what ever is the latest 10.3 iOS. Am I going to be able to factory reset and restore from a backup made on this iOS version?
     
  15. cswifx Suspended

    cswifx

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    #15
    There are only a few things I can suggest:
    • Reinstall the app and make sure it finishes installing, then uninstall it
    • Reset Home screen layout
    • Restore from a recent backup without the app installation
    • Full restore/reset
     
  16. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #16
    I've been advised that it's only Kodi 16.1 that works so I tried installing that but I get the same results.

    How do you reset the home screen layout?
     
  17. jr866gooner macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #17
    Go in settings, general and I believe it's in there unless something has changed since I last used iOS full time :)
     
  18. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #18
    I think it's a good idea to tell from what or where you trying to install Kodi.
    From what I know it's only possible to do if you have a free developer account and use Xcode to instal it.
    And I have to say it's bad manor not to give all relevant information from the beginning
     
  19. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #19
    that's like saying a phone is a phone lol
     
  20. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    Have you tried rebooting the phone, or a hard reset. I had something like that happen with an app store app and it went away with a reboot.
     
  21. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #21
  22. jr866gooner macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #22
    I think your only real option is reset and setup as new...
     
  23. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #23
    This type of error is very common on beta versions of iOS. Happens to a lot of other sideloaded apps.
    There is no solution besides full restore OR waiting for next beta3.
    Updating your device to iOS 10.3 beta3 (when it comes out) should remove that faulty installation.
    This happened to some people on beta1 and was cleared once they updated to beta2 so I expect the same will happen with beta3.
     
  24. gwhizkids macrumors 68020

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #24
    I had this happen with a beta version of my bank's app when it incompletely installed last week. The "bad" version is sitting right next to the properly installed version. Glad to hear next beta should resolve this.
     
  25. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #25
    I can confirm that updating to beta3 solves this issue.
     

Share This Page