Can't detect portable hard drive on my mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JamaineH, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. JamaineH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #1
    i have an iMac G5 and recenlt bought a Maxtor 160gb portable hard drive. when i plug the hard drive in, it lights up and comes on but it doesn't detect anywhere on mac. it doesn't come up on my desktop. i can't find it anywhere:mad:

    any help would much appeciated

    many thanks
    Jamaine
     
  2. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    sometimes turning the hard drive on first, and letting it get up to speed - then plugging it in should make it show up.
     
  3. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  4. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
  5. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  6. McGiord, Feb 23, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #6
    Are you able to see it in other computer?
    What format it has?
    What OS X version are you running?
    ________
    BMW M42 specifications
     
  7. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #7
    version 10.3.9

    i haven't tried it on any other computers yet
     
  8. McGiord, Feb 23, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #8
    Check it with Disk Utility, to see if it has the right Mac format.
    Also use the System Profiler:
    :apple: Menu -> About This Mac -> More Info... button
    ________
    vaporizer store
     
  9. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #9
    it doesn't show in the utility or the system profile :confused:
     
  10. McGiord, Feb 23, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #10
    Which USB port are you using?
    The one in the iMac or the one in the Keyboard?

    Both give you the same result?
    ________
    buy silver surfer
     
  11. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #11
    yep same with both. but when i plug it into the keyboard it a message comes up and says theres not enough power for the hard drive. i don't undrestand because this means the computer knows its there but it doen't show up anywhere :mad:
     
  12. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #12
    Maybe you should try one of those USB cables which let you plug into 2 USB ports to give the HD more power??
     
  13. JamaineH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  14. McGiord, Feb 24, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #14
    Because the Keyboard USB ports are 1.1 and your HDD needs 2.0 you can't get enough power from them.

    By the follwoing reviews in Amazon, this could be the issue. Check them here:
    http://www.amazon.com/review/produc...rtBy=bySubmissionDateDescending#RFK78L7ODQJ9G

    One person mention that needs to use the propietary special cable in order to make it work. Do you have it?

    I always check on Amazon other users opinions before buying anything, sadly I have to mention that I wouldn't buy this HDD, too many people experiencing problems with it. If I were you I would return it and buy other.
    ________
    ultimate fighter
     

Share This Page