Can't Downgrade from SL to L ( new mac pro )

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BMONIER, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. BMONIER macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #1
    Hello ,
    i got new mac pro quad core , with SL .
    but protools not combatible with SL , it works only on Leopard ,
    when booting from leopard 10.5 or 10.5.6 iso to install new system , it's freeze on apple logo .
    i don't know what can i do , i was looking for something to downgrade to 10.5.6 but can't

    can help me ?

    i want to downgrade to leopard
    iam useing SL with ProTools r3 to work on it , but it's sucks,

    waiting help
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Sadly Macs coming with Mac OS X 10.X.Y can't be downgraded to a previous version of the OS, like Mac OS X 10.X-1 or Mac OS X 10.X.Y-1 for example, so you can't even downgrade form 10.6.2 to 10.6.1 if the machine came with 10.6.2.

    Maybe there is a hack around, you can have a look at MRoogle.
     
  3. BMONIER thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #3
    ok , looking for

    ok ,
    waiting for sul.
    but if you found something or hack please tell me please
    thank you
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Generally speaking the lowest version of OSX you can run is the version that came with your mac. If it had 10.6.1, then there's no way for you to load 10.5
     
  5. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    Upgrade your Pro Tools...

    http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?navid=48&langid=100&itemid=40434

     
  6. jamiepwalker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #6
    I have been able to install os 10.5.6 on a new MacPro ordered March 2010 shipped with os 10.6 by booting from a set of MacPro installer media from another similiar, but earlier model of a macpro. the installer restore dvd media has 10.5.6 on it. from the retail 10.5.6 dvd it hangs at the white screen when booting from this media. the only way I could do this successfully was to boot from the 10.6 dvd, using disk utility, format the hard drive. booted from the older macpro installers with 10.5.6 and the install went without a hitch.

    good luck,
    jamie Walker
    Wilmington, DE
    computer Consultant
    Mac and PC solutions
    Serving the Creative Industry.
     

Share This Page