Can't Download...??? ON GM

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Maclver, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #1
    I want to download Lion from the app store so I can do a clean install.. but I'm on GM and it tells me in order to install I have a newer version on my computer and need to move it to the trash?

    Where is the old install file at so I can delete it?
     
  2. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #2
    Same error here, this is pretty lame
     
  3. stefan1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #3
    Me too. It would suck tO have to revert to SL first.

    Anyone know the build number yet? Is it same build as GM?
     
  4. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    Hmm, on the GM here and it's downloading fine?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Nero Wolfe macrumors regular

    Nero Wolfe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Guys, the GM likely IS the released (App Store) version. You are probably confusing the system by trying to do this. My GM changed from 'GM Seed' to 'OS X Lion' (App store version) in my purchase history, and says 'Installed'. I don't think you need to do anything further.
     
  6. Maclver thread starter macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #6
    but we would like to redownload and do a clean install!
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    I wanted to purchase it to make up for how I obtained the GM seed. :eek:
     
  8. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    I'd like to pay for it :rolleyes:
     
  9. vodouman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I suspected this would be the case. :) Thankfully I have another Mac I can use to download it :)
     
  10. jeff526 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    I also have GM installed and want to upgrade and pay for full release.
    However I receive the error "A new version of this app is already installed on this computer"
     
  11. wvisbeen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #11
    The appstore version is 11A494 and the GM is 11A511. Ergo the GM is newer!?
     
  12. mattcleary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
  13. k4show macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #13
    And DP4, this sucks I was really looking forward to upgrading.
     
  14. as2 macrumors newbie

    as2

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    #14
    Hold down option whilst clicking on Buy Now to bypass the version check. Allows you to purchase and download without any problems.
     
  15. k4show macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #15
    It worked! Thanks so much.
     
  16. tcador macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    You sir, rock!
     
  17. MikeatOSX, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    MikeatOSX macrumors regular

    MikeatOSX

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austria
    #17
    Same here: Germany

    Edit: found the solution - ALT must be pressed, to download Lion nevertheless...
     

    Attached Files:

  18. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #18
    Awesome.

    I'm also curious if people having problems have the GM install still located in their Downloads folder? That's where the App Store put it when I downloaded it. I did not have my GM install still located there (but if I did, I'm wondering what it would have done).
     
  19. TXCiclista macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    #19
    Mine didn't.

    The version number difference is curious. Why would the GM have a later version number than the store version? What did they rollback?
     
  20. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #20
    They didn't. It's explained in another thread, but if you install the MAS version, it About This Mac shows the same version number as the GM. The older version number was apparently gleamed from a file within the package, and the GM and MAS version both show the same older version number there as well.
     

Share This Page