Can't enable Personal Hotspot on iPhone 5, iOS 6

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by iamthekiller, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. iamthekiller macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #1
    I just joined Verizon with the iPhone 5. I joined my wife's existing Verizon Wireless account, and turned it into a "share everything" plan.

    The Personal Hotspot feature on her new iPhone 5 works just fine. It doesn't work on mine. I'm presented with this error message, to call Verizon at 611 to enable.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I've called Verizon twice, and they ensured me that the features and permissions are the same on both lines, but it still doesn't work.

    When I got the iPhone 5, I restored to iCloud backup instead of setting up as new. I tried restoring to new phone to see if that would help, and it still didn't work. Apple said it must be a Verizon issue if the restore didn't help.

    I also tried resetting network data, that didn't work.

    Anybody else run into this issue? :confused:
     
  2. robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  3. iamthekiller thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for your useless response. There's nothing worse than the "just restore solution".

    If you bothered to read, you'd see that I restored the phone to factory settings already.
     
  4. bogatyr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #4
    It can take time to apply to the line. I would log onto the Verizon website and check to make sure your line is on the share everything plan. Wait a day, restart the phone, if it still isn't working, call Verizon back.

    I had the same delay on mine.
     
  5. robdam1001, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2012

    robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #5
    Did i say "restore the phone to factory settings"? I said reset it !

    Do you know how to reset an iphone or do you need remedial instructions?

    You're welcome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Night Spring, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2012

    Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    By "reset," I assume you are referring to "reset all settings"? And sorry if I'm ignorant, but does that do something that restore to factory settings doesn't do? I mean, I always thought that "reset all settings" would just do some subset of reverting to factory settings. Am I wrong?
     
  7. robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
  8. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #8
  9. robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    "Reset the phone"; Sorry, I cannot make it any clearer or easier to understand.
     
  10. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #10
    Well, you could have said something like, "reset the phone -- if you don't know how, see instructions here [link].”
     
  11. nsayer macrumors 6502a

    nsayer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    #11
    "Reboot the phone," would probably be a less ambiguous way to say it.
     
  12. iamthekiller, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 23, 2012

    iamthekiller thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #12
    Settings, general, reset, reset networking settings; this was suggested by Verizon & Apple - it doesn't work

    I've restored the phone to factory settings through iTunes; this didn't work.

    I went to two Verizon stores; no help.

    I'm going to an Apple store as a last resort - likely will have to swap the phone.

    Thanks all.

    ----------

    I've had it since Friday, and called a few times since then. The account online shows me as having the same features as another account on the line, and it still doesn't work.

    I think it's something with the sim or phone - Apple store might find the issue later tonight.
     
  13. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #13
    You should consider yourself lucky for anyone to help you with an attitude like that. :rolleyes:
     
  14. iamthekiller, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012

    iamthekiller thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #14
    After calling verizon twice, visiting two verizon stores, and the apple store, I went to a third verizon store and a girl there was able to fix it. She shut the phone down, deleted the hotspot feature on my account, turned the phone back on, and hotspot was enabled and working fine. Problem solved.

    This is what appeared on the "service changed" receipt emailed to me afterwards:

    Added Service :
    MOBILE HOTSPOT 4G PROVISIONING
    Removed Service :
    BLOCK MHS/PRE-PROVISIONED MHS
     

Share This Page