can't enter password in terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hengster7, Dec 30, 2015.

  1. Hengster7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    #1
    On my computer I am trying to run an uninstallation program that uses terminal. It asks for an administrator password and my administrator account doesn't have a password so I left it bank and hit enter and it said my password was incorrect and I need to try again. I then tried to type the password to another administrator account but it won't let me type anything at all. I know nothing about how terminal works so any help is appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Erdbeertorte Suspended

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #2
    I think you need to setup a password for the account you are logged in with.

    In the system preferences there are some options that can only be changed if you click on this icon:

    Bildschirmfoto 2015-12-30 um 22.01.52.png

    If you don't have a password it is not able to unlock when you just type in nothing.
     
  3. Wondercow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Are you sure you're using an administrator account?
     
  4. dwfaust macrumors 601

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #4
    also, when you type your password in Terminal, nothing is displayed on the screen - no asterisks, no cursor movement, nada. Just type the password and press enter.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    dwfaust is correct - When you are asked to enter a password in the terminal, no characters are displayed as you type in the password.
    There can be some uses for a blank password, so when you see a password request, all you need to do is press enter.
    However, sometimes the blank password is not a good idea, because (as you have discovered), you may find that a blank password is not suitable when a real password (with actual characters) is needed, and a blank cannot work.
    You will find that some parts of the system will not let you use a no-character (blank) password.

    Think of it this way - a blank password (no characters) is NOT the same as no password. Even the blank means that you still have a password, it just has no characters. … a-a-and, you can't enter a password that has no characters.
    So, in certain situations (and with some applications) a blank password results in an error - and the only way to correct the error is to add a password for your admin user account.
     

Share This Page