Can't enter Target Disk Mode :: PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #1
    So I keep trying to google why I can't enter Target Disk Mode on my G4 but all I can find is how to do it, which I know. I need to enter it so I can copy my PowerMac G5 Leopard install back to the PowerBook.
    What happens when I boot it is I hold T and it does go into TDM. Then it sits on the screen for a second and then loads the battery indicator at the bottom. Almost instantly after that it just shuts down. I've lost my Tiger DVD and this is the only way I can get OS X back onto it. Can anyone give me some help?
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    Usually the battery indicator only appears if the computer is not plugged in. The fact that it shuts down would seem to confirm this to me, along with the fact that it shuts down shortly after starting. TDM can use a LOT of power.

    There are other ways of getting OS X onto your computer. You can always pull the HDD and use an external USB or FW enclosure plugged into your G5 to clone the drive.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    You probably don't want to be doing TDM without being directly connected to power.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Ensure that the adapter is firmly connected and working properly. Surprisingly, Target Disk Mode uses insane amounts of power and if the battery is even the slightest bit wonky it may shut down.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    I use my iBook G4 in Target Disk Mode on battery once in a while and it doesn't seem to use insane amounts of power, maybe about the same as normal use. It has also never shut down unexpectedly.

    Of course, YMMV.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I have only noticed unexpected shut downs if the battery has dead cells or is otherwise wonky.
     
  7. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #7
    It is connected to power and also has the battery in. could this mean my charger itself is bad andnot supplying enough power to the laptop?
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    It could.

    Are you using a 45W charger or a 65W charger? The iBook G4s and 12" PowerBook take a 45W charger but you can use a 65W charger with them (it steps down).

    However, the rest of the PowerBook G4s (15" and 17") require a 65W charger. These Macs can function on a 45W charger but they are either slow to charge or simply maintain the current battery level. There's not enough power for full system use.

    If your charger is only 45W and you have a Mac that needs a 65W then this could explain things.

    If you have a 65W charger but the Mac generally has issues with charging while running off the power supply then it could just be a bad power supply as you asked about, or the DC-In board could be bad.

    But, we'd need to know more before determining that. Any other power issues you are having?
     
  9. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #9
    That's exactly it. I'm using my iBook G4's old 45W charger. I do have a 65W for the PowerBook around here somewhere. Other than the TDM problem the only other issue I have is to boot it I have to remove the battery, plug it in, unplug it, press the power button, plug it back in, turn it on and then put the battery in. And thats because of the dead PRAM battery, which I will be replacing soon.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    By "That's exactly it" then I assume the problem has been deduced?

    If so then you are going to need that 65W charger.
     
  11. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #11
    Yes. I'm going to search for my 65W charger and then everything should work fine. I used it the last time I used TDM so that's the only factor thats changed.
     

Share This Page