Can't find all the video on a DVD for MPEG Streamclip

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by PostShawn, Apr 4, 2007.

1. PostShawn macrumors newbie

I did a search and couldn't find anything. Let me start by a quick explanation of what I am doing. First off I am a pro video editor (work on TV stuff in Los Angeles). I am not trying to rip anything copyrighted, so please no lectures on that. The material I am working with is for a friend of mine who is a standup comedian and is video of him on a DVD burned by someone else. This is the only copy he has of this gig and he really wants to use a bite from it.

So I am trying to rip the video from the DVD to my hard drive using MPEG Streamclip. I am using FCP to edit but that is past this part. I look in the DVD VIDEO_TS folder and see three .VOB files. The first one is just the menu. The second one is 0.kb in size. The third one is only 138mb in size and has a 3 minute clip. I am able to rip that 3 minute clip and get a good quicktime to work with. My problem is that is the last 3 minutes of 25 minutes that is on there. When I just play the DVD in a player there is a full 25 minutes from start to finish.

So where is the rest of this video on the DVD?

There are three folders on the dvd; VIDEO_TS, ZRIND, & ZTEMP.
    - The VIDEO_TS has the three VOB files along with a couple IFO files and BUP files. All files are 0.kb - 32.kb, except for the on 138.mb file.
    - The ZRIND folder has nothing in it.
    - The ZTEMP folder has a file called DVDV_REC.IRS and that is it.