Can't Get ANY 3.0 Tethering to Work

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chase817, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. Chase817 macrumors member

    Chase817

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #1
  2. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

    jmccullough108

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
  3. Chase817 thread starter macrumors member

    Chase817

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #3
    I've tried. I'm not that stupid :p. I've tried Bluetooth, and it pairs fine, but I don't get any internet connection. I've also tried plugging my phone into my mac, but there was no 'iPhone' option in the network settings section of System Preferences.
     
  4. stu212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #4
    Do you have the 3.0 apple SDK.
    You need both the SDK and the 3.0 iphone software update.
    the 3.0 SDK alters itunes and your prefrences to allow you to do this.
    And the bluetooth thethering only works with older macs newer ones have a newer chipset in them.
     
  5. Chase817 thread starter macrumors member

    Chase817

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #5
    A. I have used the modified carrier update file, as stated in my first post.

    B. I have a late 2006 MacBook (I think, maybe 2007.)

    C. I already have the preference pane in the settings app to allow me to do this.
     
  6. iPhoneJB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #6
    Did you select "Connect to Network" in the Bluetooth menu bar icon? This should get you connected to the internet.
     
  7. stu212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #7
    Do you have the iPhone developer SDK? the 3.0 one?
    if you dont then you cant use tethering.
    I wasnt talking about the updated ipcc file, the SDK 3.0 alters your Macbook to allow tethering on that.
     
  8. Project-79 macrumors 6502

    Project-79

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Also, you should try rebooting your MacBook. It wasn't working properly for me until I rebooted my Mac. As well, when you plug your iPhone into your Mac, it show have a pop-up saying there is a new network. Until that happens, you have a problem.

    Hope that helps.

    Pro-79
     

Share This Page