Can't get new wireless printer to find network.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by russcolban, Jun 5, 2009.

1. russcolban macrumors newbie

First, I'm an amateur at this stuff, so please be gentle.

I've been trying all day to get my new wireless printer to find my wireless network. No joy.

I have an airport extreme router connected to an AT&T 2WIRE modem. The guys that installed the AT&T stuff recently said I normally wouldn't need the airport extreme because the 2WIRE serves as both modem and router, however it does not work with an airport express, which I have in another room to boost the signal. So when the printer looks for the (SSID) network, it sees my apple network, which is what my macbook and windows vista laptops also see and connect to. After that, I'm entering the wireless network key from the 2WIRE.

I've tried several (many) other configurations, numbers, etc. without success. Any ideas?

Thanks.

2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

eawmp1

I'm confused. If the printer sees your Apple network, which is what your laptops are connected to, what is the problem? Your notebooks should be able to print to the wireless printer on the Apple network Is there another computer (e.g. desktop that is hard wired to the 2WIRE) that is the problem?

3. robert05au macrumors regular

robert05au

One maybe silly question

Are you running the wireless network as an 'n' (5 GHz) or bg (2.4 Ghz)?

The printer may only be able to use a bg compatible network setup as the airport extreme can be use as either a bg or n compatible device.

Any other info about how the network is setup this can be found under wireless tab in the airport utility and manual setup of the airport screen.

I can help further sort this out as I use a printer wirelessly and had some similar issues myself.

4. russcolban thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the feedback.