Can't get o2 sim working with iPhone 2g

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JAWWC, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. JAWWC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #1
    I have a 3G and my other half has a 2G, her sim will work fine in my phone (o2 Simplicity) so I though if I activate the 2G with my sim (which worked fine), I could then pop her sim in and it would work fine. I have a problem though, when I put the Simplicity in it say connect to iTunes, Different SIM detected.

    Is there away to get this activated to work on her sim like my 3G does without unlocking?

    Cheers
     
  2. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    if the other halfs sim works in the 2G why do you need to put your sim in her 2g to activate it?
     
  3. JAWWC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #3
    Hers won't work in the 2G, it will only work in the 3G for some reason :-(
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
  5. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
  6. JAWWC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #6
    No it's my old one I had on a o2 contract originally.

    It's running 3.1 as is my 3g that works with it.
     
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #7
    Hmm, I have not used 3.1 yet, but a couple of thoughts:

    - if you plug it into iTunes, won't it activate her SIM? I don't think that needs an unlock.

    - if that doesn't work, restore the phone and set up as new, put her SIM in and let iTunes activate it that way

    If neither of those works, just unlock it with RedSn0w and you'll be fine, but I don't think you'll need to, unless they did something funny in 3.1
     

Share This Page