Can't Get Rid of Application in Toolbar

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gballa, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. Gballa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    i deleted an app a while back, its a web filter for my kid, and i moved on to a better one. I deleted everything related to the software, and yet every time at startup, the little castle logo appears next to my other icons...how do i get rid of this. The attached file shows what i mean exactly and the circled icon is the one im referring to. Thanks guys. not sure if its attached or not....
     

    Attached Files:

  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    That looks like Intego's ContentBarrier. The proper way to uninstall that is to run the application's installer again and choose the "Uninstall" option. Can you do that?
     
  3. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #3
    actually, i deleted the app, and no trace of intego software is to be found when i search for content barrier or intego...
     
  4. dizzlemizzle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    try holding command and dragging it off the dock
     
  5. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #5
    its not on my dock its on my toolbar at the top of the screen
     
  6. dizzlemizzle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #6
    yeah it should still work...hold command and try it...you can also rearrange the icons by doing the same thing
     
  7. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    open activity monitor and look at all processes then look for one with a name that looks like it could belong to that app. Then search through your hard disk for whatever the name is. Then delete it. And if that doesn't work double click the task that you found in the Activity Monitor then double click it. Then click "Open Files and Ports" it'll show you that task's path. Then delete that file where ever it is.
     
  8. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    What dizzlemizzle suggested should work since your icon is in the menu bar at the top of the screen. BTW- you don't need to hold the command key to drag things off the dock (just drag them off with the mouse) but you do to remove items from the menu bar.
     
  9. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    There are certain menubar items that cannot be removed this way.
     
  10. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #10
    Absolutely-- like the stock Apple ones usually are not and can only be rearranged within the bar using the Command key. But third party icons can usually be removed this way so it is worth a shot.
     
  11. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    What are you talking about? I can remove every stock icon in my toolbar other than the spotlight icon with just the command key. However two of my third party apps cannot be removed that way.
     
  12. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #12
    ok i have located the file thanks to your help, but i can not empty the trash because all of the files are in use. How would i delete them then??
     
  13. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #13
    Note: The app isnt on my list of login items, yet it still comes up at login before i can delete it.
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    You need to kill the process using Activity Monitor. Then you can delete it.
     
  15. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #15
    ok the process was killed and the icon disappeared from the toolbar, but i still cant empty the trash....
     
  16. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #16
    restart computer then try to empty trash. also reinstall the app and download appcleaner. it's a free app uninstaller. it gets rid of everything for you. you might have missed something the first time manually deleting it.
     
  17. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #17
    Just to be clear, in Mac OS X, that bar at the top is called a menubar not a toolbar. Continue on... :)
     
  18. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    If after a restart you still can't delete it open up terminal type "sudo rm /file/path/name"
    then hit return.
     
  19. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #19
    If you dont feel like figuring out the path, you can drag the file to the terminal window and it will fill in the path and filename.
     
  20. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #20
    Great! Thanks guys, i got it fixed...now to try to forward ports on a cisco router (no idea)
     
  21. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #21
    to do that (change settings of the router), you need to type in the ip address of your computer.. ie; http://192.xxx.xx.x.x or whatever it is. That is how i chnaged the setings on my linskys (cisco) wireless to put a password lock on it.
     
  22. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    I think he means an actual cisco router, which uses unix-like terminal commands.
     
  23. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008

Share This Page