can't import a certain file to Garageband???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AeroBar, May 17, 2010.

  1. AeroBar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    Is there a limit on the size or length of an audio file that Garageband can import?

    I have an Apple Lossless file over five hours long in iTunes. When I try to drag it into Garageband, it acts as though it is importing, but then tells me the ".aiff file is empty". But if I play the file in Quicktime, iTunes and in the iTunes section of Garageband, it plays fine.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #2
    I've never tried to import Apple Lossless into GB. You might try converting the file to AIFF and see if that works. I'd be pretty tempted to break it into smaller files. Five hours is a really long audio file. It might present challenges to GB.
     
  3. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #3
    Thanks, but I've imported Apple Lossless before with no hassle.

    Plus, I've also imported files just short of five hours, but I thought maybe this one was just too big.
     
  4. mtspace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    #4
    Same Problem. 'File is Empty' error

    I have a four-hour long recording that needs to be edited. When I try to open it in either Logic Express or Garage Band I get "File is Empty!" error. I can, nevertheless, listen to it in iTunes in its entirety.

    I have made AAC and MP3 copies using iTunes and these report through iTunes that they are 00:32:10 in length, but when I go to play them, iTunes scroll bar shows them in their full 4+ hour length. These, too, will play in iTunes, but they will not import into either Garage Band or Logic Express.

    How do I trim long audio files? Am I going to have to do this the old fashioned way by playing it back to an external device?:eek:
     
  5. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    In iTunes, if you do Get Info, there is a place you can set start and stop times for a song. It wouldn't be too hard to adjust these settings several times, while making new copies (say convert to mp3 or AIFF or AAC).
     

Share This Page