Can't install/drag-drop into my Applications Folder

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Eltonjpt, Mar 19, 2015.

  1. Eltonjpt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #1
    I don't know what changed. I was able to install applications the other week by dragging and dropping applications in to the Applications folder, but starting last week I wasn't able to. I checked the folder permissions and the Admin has read and write privileges.

    What also happens is, for example, I open the Skype dmg, and try to drag the application into the folder--it doesn't work. But after that, I can't eject the drive, or even shut down my computer without it warning me that there is a process happening. The only way out is to force Finder to relaunch itself.

    Can anyone please help me? This is very annoying!
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    A couple of things to try. First repair permissions, reboot, login and see if the issue still happens. Next create a new admin user, reboot, login to the new admin user and see if the issue happens.
     
  3. Eltonjpt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #3

    I've repeatedly tired to repair permissions, and it says it fixes an issue, but I still can't add applications to the Applications folder. I also did a PRAM reset (just in case). I even turned on the computer in restore mode, opened terminal and did the resetpassword function to Reset Home Directory Permissions. None of these things worked.

    However, I did create a new admin account, and that account was able to install applications. It's a workaround, I guess, but it still doesn't solve my main issue--which is my main account can't!

    Any other suggestions?
     
  4. Taz Mangus, Mar 19, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2015

    Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    Try this. Drag ~/Library/Caches folder to your Desktop and delete ~/Library/Caches. Reboot and login back in to your main account. See if this helps.
     

Share This Page