Can't Install from DVD only USB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rocketjacket, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. rocketjacket macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #1
    I'm trying to install Mountain Lion on a friends MBP (Core2 Duo/late 2008/New SSD).
    I have a version of SL that came with my 13" 2011 MBP, it wont install. I get the following message "mac os can't be installed on this computer". Yet when I install SL from a USB (diff from the DVD) I am able to install. I then try to upgrade to ML & it wont let me install.

    I have know idea what's going on.

    In the Activity monitor, the kernal_task indicates 32bit.


    So could it be that the USB is a 32bit ver (like windows has diff. versions).

    Any ideas?



    BTW, I have the following on the Drive
    Partition Map Scheme : GUID Partition Table
    Format : Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    The grey install discs that come with Macs are model-specific and will not work on other models.
     
  3. rocketjacket thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #3
    Oh, I see. So why doesn't the ML install over the top of the SL?
     
  4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Are you trying to install this for your friend or are you installing it on your computer?

    You mentioned about your friend in the beginning but now you're talking about your mac not installing ML? :confused:
     
  5. rocketjacket thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #5
    Its for a friend, I am trying to put ML on it.

    (My MBP came with SL & I got the ML from the App Store, made a USB install
    and it installed ok for me. Although it didn't work on my friends MBP).
     
  6. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    How did you try to install it on to your friends Mac?
    Did you start up installer on his computer that contained ML?
     
  7. rocketjacket thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #7
    Booted to the USB
     
  8. rocketjacket thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #8
    After the SL did some updates it has let me upgrade to ML.
    But still wondering if its running at 64bit or not. As in the Activity monitor, the kernal_task indicates 32bit?
     

Share This Page