Can't install iMovie HD 6 in new mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by diazj3, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. diazj3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to install iMovie HD 6 on my new iMac (which came with iLife'09 pre-installed). This old version of iMovie - IMO - still holds some features that are absent in the new iMovie... but when I tried to install it, it gave me this message...

    Anyone else with this issue? is there a way around this? (I don't have my old iMac which had iLife'08)

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    If you have iLife '09 installed, you cannot have iMovie HD 6 installed with it.
     
  3. diazj3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #3
    Thanks celticpride678.

    Yes, I see... but still, i'd like to understand why: isn't iMovieHD6 a stand-alone application? and also, is there a way around this?
     
  4. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    No, iMovie HD 6 was part of iLife '06. Since iLife '08 included a completely rewritten iMovie, Apple let users of the new iLife have a copy of the old iMovie so as not to suddenly force the transition. But they had to leave it behind eventually. After all, you wouldn't consider yourself entitled to a copy of any past version of iWork you wanted just because you owned the newest one, would you?
     
  5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    I hope I can install HD 6 on SL, because I don't like the new iMovie and I don't have the money for a new computer and FCS.
     
  6. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #6
    I think as long as you have '08, you should be good
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    I'm thinking that, too, but you never know.
     
  8. diazj3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #8
    Of course I would!!! :p my mother told me I'm entitled to anything I wished for!!! isn't that why torrents exist? (hahaha, I'm just just kidding... seriously, I wouldn't)

    ok, now I understand. well: too bad... I'll look for other ways to accomplish those tasks. Thanks!

    cheers,
     
  9. russiaoner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    bosston
    #9
    id hate to bump this but im in a hole here. i have a college final coming up and i really really need the imovie 6.0.1 cause the 08 one i have is garbage, ive heard a few of you guys still have the old ones and i would really appreciate it if anyone could help me out. i cant send pms for some reason though, prob cause im a new user or something.


    thanks to anyone who can help me out
     
  10. TheQuestion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Location is relative, no?
    #10
    You have the install discs for iLife 09 right? so try this. Delete iLife 09. Try to install iMovie HD and then re-install iLife 09. I have both running side by side with no problems.
     
  11. russiaoner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    bosston
    #11
    no i have imovie 8


    and imovieHD 6 got taken out by the mac ppl cause of the 09 version coming out. so i cant even find a download
     
  12. hak187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #12
    If you have '08 installed, then you should be able to install HD. But once you have '09 installed, you can't install HD.
     
  13. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    I had Leopard, iLife '08, iMovie HD6, iWork '08 & iWork '09 installed and working. No change with Snow Leopard.
     
  14. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #14
    If you have it on another backup hd (mine was on my leopard backup) , just drag it over to your SL desktop. Worked for me. If you use plugins from geethree, you have to install rosette for them to work.
     
  15. hxh103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #15
    There is a way to install imovie HD without having to install ilife 08.

    *download the imovie HD dmg
    *open it, right click on iMovieHD6.pkg-->Show package contents
    *new Folder will open up, double click on the folder Contents
    *look for Archive.pax.gz, double click it and it will unarchive automatically
    *where ever it unarchived it to, look for Archive-->Applications-->iMovie HD
    *open it to make sure it work, then move it where you want
    *pin it to the dock if you want

    I don't know what to do with the other files that were unarchived, but it looks like they're just documentation and some themes

    I haven't tested running this with 09, but I don't think it will be a problem since imovie HD 6 and imovie 09 are different applications. good luck
     
  16. branden3112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #16
    Thank you so much bro!
     
  17. hxh103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #17
    no problem. glad to help. also, I've tested this with ilife '09 installed and running it does not cause any problems. It has shut down once, but I think it was because I was trying to import too much at the same time and it just crapped out. As with anything, save often :)
     
  18. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #18
    I have the same prob with no way around and I have ilife 08.
     
  19. hxh103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #19
    you tried the above trick and it did not work for you? I've tested this without installing ilife at all and it worked as well as with ilife 09 on snow leopard.

    maybe describe what you have tried so far and what the result was
     
  20. ceek macrumors member

    ceek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #20
    It Worked!

    Thanks SO much! It worked perfectly on my new MacBook Pro. I normally use AE and FCP, but like it was said above, iMovie HD is so great for quick edits, and iMovie 09 is an insult.

    Thanks for making my day hxh103!:D:apple:
     

Share This Page